We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG, I want sleep!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place is ok, hence the 'ok' rating. The staff is nice enough--not overtly friendly but not completely unapproachable. The one who checked me in continued to tell me about bars and clubs even after I said I don't drink and don't go to those places, which may be because that's just her little spiel but I found it somewhat inconsiderate. The place is pretty clean, though the shower plumbing could use a cleaning out as water backs up while you are in there which is kinda gross to me. And the fridge is jam-packed and a little smelly which can't be all from current hostelguests as there is good turnover of visitors. Security is excellent and necessary. But above all--I can't get a good night's sleep here!!! The hostel is on the 3rd floor at a major intersection where late night partygoers/drinkers/crazy people like to stand and yell and scream whatever in Latvian and Russian. Maybe because there's a MacDonald's downstairs or for the wonderful echo that makes the yelling all the better for those who would prefer to not hear it. Cars are constantly beeping their horns at them (which makes them laugh and scream all the more and louder) and each other, you can hear the beeping for the pedestrian crossing day and night, and I absolutely can't forget to include the motorcycles who like to rev up their engines after turning onto the smaller road to race down it doing wheelies. The location is superb (right near everything you need in Central city and 10-15 minute walk to Old Town and Moscow) and everything else is comfy enough for the reasonable price. If I use earplugs I won't hear my alarm but it's been 2 nights going on 3 and I'm so tired I guess I'll have to ruin my day tomorrow just to be able to get some shuteye.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistherd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doodishpeep, Owner at Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are sorry you didn't get to experience a good night's sleep at Sally's. As you mentioned the staff wasn't entirely unaproachable so why didn't you make a complaint as soon as you felt uncomfortable with the noise level? Especially when you have sleep issues (judging from your review of Cheap Sleep hostel in Helsinki). We do have quiet rooms in the back of the building facing a courtyard and we move all light sleepers in there if they find the front rooms too noisy.
Take care and safe travels,
Cinnamon Sallies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 225 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

In short this is a hostel that makes you feel at home very fast. The crew that works there is very helpful if you want to now about things to do, see, eat or hear in the city. Every visit basically starts with one of the employees explaining what there is to do in the area and what the rules of the hostel are. They're always ready to answer questions if something wasn't clear or if you want to know more about something.

The hostel attracts great people in general creating a very nice ambiance within the common room. Mostly people go to see the city together during daytime, where at nighttime they go out to one of the pubs or clubs while being at least advised, but regularly guided by one of the crew members working there.

For food a few fast-food chains are around, such as the obvious McDonalds but also a Kebap place, Belgian Fries or for those who want to make food for their selves a supermarket within a 5 minute walk. Restaurants

Shower, kitchen and toilets are clean. And while the showers might be a little bit small on the small side this doesn't create any problems. The amount of toilets and showers available is also sufficient, even at busier moments there is no waiting queue.

I'd recommend this hostel to everyone that goes to Riga, it's guaranteed success if the weather cooperates!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place has been the best I have stayed on my solo trip around Europe so far!! Clean, comfortable and very welcoming!! The staff are fantastic Ieva, Daiga and Dace make this a great environment and I wish I had more time to stay. I hope the recipe i left is used!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtsymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hostel is an excellent base for adventures in Riga, with fantastic value for money.

When you are in the hostel, the environment is very comfortable, friendly and clean and the staff are very happy to recommend things to do in Riga. I could listen to the overview they give to travelers on the map all day long!

The location is also fantastic, very easy to get to from out of the city by bus or taxi and walking distance from all the main areas I wanted to go to.

Apart from late at night (After midnight) when the staff are asleep, there is always someone on hand to help you with anything you could possibly need on your stay.

The consensus of everyone I met in Cinnamon Sally's was that it was an absolutely fantastic hostel.

Chris, from England

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Close to the bus and train and shares a door with McDonalds, This hostel has a warm atmosphere with people chilling in the living room. The employees are super friendly and informative and discounted beer, cider, water, juice..free coffee and tea and some food in kitchen.

However, the two floors you have to climb up to get to the hostel level smells like sulfur and urine with homeless people sleeping in the stairwell. Also, the bathrooms and showers are shared, but at least they keep them clean...only annoying part was my friend's shower ran out of hot water. you also have to cut through the living room to get to the bathroom...which can be uncomfortable early in the morning.

The room was a great size..bed and sheets were comfortable, however the towels were not the best and there was no closet in the room, but at least enough space for your things.

Free wifi is another huge plus...
The hostel is in the center of things, but it is still a 10 minute walk to the Old Town..which is where all the nightlife and 99% of the restataunts are located, which is difficult if you want something other than McDonalds for a late or quick dinner.

We did not feel unsafe in the neighborhood and there is also a supermarket and movie theater near by that plays English speaking
Movies!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doodishpeep, Owner at Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Hi Lucy!
Thanks for your review! Since we have never had such a low score I feel we need to respond and explain :)
1. We had a slow transition from security guard to security door in the building but now the situation with homeless people is solved and the stairwell is clean and safe. Also, you didn't HAVE to climb the stairs, because we have an elevator :)
2. Yes, the facilities (toilet and shower) are shared, but you must have known that when you booked the "private double room with shared bathroom". The toilets and showers are in separate little rooms so that's the most privacy you can have without having the shower in your room.
3. The towels are new and clean and a decent size to wrap around yourself without showing too much when you go from shower to the room :)
4. We have lots of late night eating places around, that are opened a lot later than the ones in the Old town. Within 1 minutes walk there is a late night kebab, 24h pizza, a late night bistro and of course, the 24h McDonalds and McCafe with cakes and great coffee. Plus supermarket is opened till midnight and it sells hot food.
5. We actually got a closet for the room that you were staying in :)
6. The problem with the hot water is very unusual because it 1.5 years of the existence of the hostel this is the first time I hear about it. There is a central boiler for the building that had never ran out before.
Safe travels in the future and come check out Cinnamon Sally's soon again!
Ieva, the owner and manager of Cinnamon Sally's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hostel provides cosy and warm accommodation for a travler. I stayed there for a week in february and found this as a great location to explore Riga. The staff is friendly and helpful and you get the big family feeling. I was recommended this hostel and a another one from the staff at the place I stayed in Vilnius and they even helped with the booking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelJohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Cinnamon Sally was a highlight of my stay in Riga. They really understand what makes a good hostel. Great central location.

The lounge room is perfect for both chilling out and for meeting new people. The dorm in which I stayed was always warm and the bunk bed was comfortable. All of the staff's recommendations were spot on.

The staff are fantastic, really helpful, great company and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamestravelnotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#4 of 150 in Riga
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#20 of 150 in Riga
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tree House
Tree House
#6 of 150 in Riga
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riga Hostel
Riga Hostel
#8 of 150 in Riga
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bearsleys Downtown Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel

Address: Merkela iela 1 | 3rd Floor, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Bunks & Roses Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range: $10 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and clean hostel in the very centre of things. Social communal areas, beer on sale in the hostel, spacious, comfortable rooms, free Internet, maps, tour info, free tea & coffee, fully equipped kitchen, FREE PHONE CALLS to any country in the world. Special comfort female dorm, various size mixed dorms, family and double rooms. Backpackers WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing