We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy... home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“A cozy... home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

One of the most friendly hostels we've been.
A comfortable, nice and very clean place!
Ieva, the owner...makes you feel like home!
Recomended 100%.
Paldies (thank you in latvian) - Efxaristoume! (thank you in greek)
T&P

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
22
88
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

When we first arrived Sally must have been out for groceries, because no one opened the door. So we went down to the Mac Cafe and when we came back a little later, we were welcomed with a smile; "You are the girls that reserved the family room.?". We had to take out our shoes and it felt like coming into our own living room. Our private family room was big and clean, with freshly smelling sheets. The toilets and shower were also very clean. The living room/kitchen is very cosy, nice to chill or to have some social contacts. Sally gave us very good advice about visiting the city and eating/drinking. This was certainly the best youth hostel we ever slept in (and we do have some experience)! Bravo, for the nice concept!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riga2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

the story: the plan was to meet 8 of my best friends to spend a boyz weekend (the last time we were all together was probably 5 years ago). I flew from Bruxelles to Riga, and they were supposed to fly from Milan. Unfortunately, their flight got canceled. So they couldn't come and I got stuck in Riga for the weekend by myself.
Luckily, the hostel that we booked turned out to be a great place! The girls running it are super nice, very helpful, and they work very hard to create a nice, cozy, friendly atmosphere. They are also very knowledgeable about the city and gave me a lot of advices on where to go, where to eat, what to do. I met a tons of cool people at the hostel, and I had a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acanidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My friend and i stayed here for 3 nights and were so impressed by the hostel. The room was large, bright, clean and the beds were so comfy. The common room was friendly and the two girls that run the place are great. Really reccomend the place. Will stay there again :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boynumber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Definitly the best hostel i've ever been in europe.
Everything is clean, brand new, the living room is really cosy and bedrooms quiet
the best would still be the staff ..... so friendly

Awesome people in an awesome place

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmapiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Best hostel to stay in Riga. Modern, clean, safe & fun. The host, Ieva, is fantastic & is a great host. Close to transport & a nice short walk into the the old town. Cannot fault this place & deserves its number 1 rating.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

This hostel does not accept the stag and hen do's that are abundant in the town and as a result it attracts a much more eclectic set of travelers which gives a more authentic travelling experience.
The location is perfect for a youth hostel, you can't ask for more and the way it is discreetly tucked away in an unassuming corner of a building just adds to the feeling of security you feel inside this little oasis.
The amenities are fantastic, the girls dorm has everything you could possibly need to do your hair with (tongs, straighteners, dryer and even cotton buds and moisturising creams) and the smell of fresh baked cookies is very welcoming!
It is still a very new hostel so Ieva is still refurbishing but it is great to see the money being re-invested in the place. The room we stayed in was a private room with a mirror (very helpful) and a table but no shelves or cupboard for the clothes which would have been the icing on the cake.
We also only gave 4 points on the quality of sleep (nothing to do with the bed which was great) due to the fact that it is a YH and let’s be honest...there is always one drunk person roaming the corridors looking for the toilet at night which can wake you up if you are a light sleeper but it is nothing out of the ordinary for a Youth Hostel where you can have a good old bit of fun without even leaving the hostel, perfect!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverbyK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.5 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel

Property: Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Address: Merkela iela 1 | 3rd floor, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Bunks & Roses Backpackers Hostel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and clean hostel in the very centre of things. Social communal areas, beer on sale in the hostel, spacious, comfortable rooms, free Internet, maps, tour info, free tea & coffee, fully equipped kitchen, FREE PHONE CALLS to any country in the world. Special comfort female dorm, various size mixed dorms, family and double rooms. Backpackers WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing