We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good options, big portions.”

Lidojosa Varde The Flying Frog
Ranked #30 of 982 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located close to several embassies in Riga, this restaurant is a popular place among locals and expats.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good options, big portions.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Really nice atmosphere and friendly staff in a lovely area of town. We had a veggie and a vegan with us that found a few options. The beer is also excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    199
    46
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a Valentine's Day dinner here. It has various areas - we ate in the cavern part. We has fajitas with a pleasant Rioja followed by coffee. Most enjoyable and relaxing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roseeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cute little place, good value and huge range of dishes”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stumbled upon this place whilst looking for somewhere to warm up - it was very quiet when we went in, and we had a table right by a little log burner so it was nice and cozy. The menu was enormous - a really good range of snacks, proper meals and everything in between. The portions were extremely large and well priced, and the range of fresh juices was a nice touch as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They messed up our drinks. And served in my view uncooked pork!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ordered gin and tonic and the tonic was flat. I ordered pork and in my view it was not cooked. Felt I'll afterwards. I sent it back saying I was not happy and would not eat it. To make matters worse they then rudely gave me the bill and had charged me for the pork. I refused too pay for the pork meal but said I was happy to pay for the rest. This brought the Manager out who eventually agreed not to charge for the pork. However he insisted it was cooked alright. Well maybe Latvians eat raw pork! But I don't. We left restaurant feeling very dis satisfied and thought they were very rude by English standards. I won't go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service average food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Service poor, could not care less approach. Fish was third rate, overcooked and lacking flavour, same with vegetables.
Waste of money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lidojosa Varde The Flying Frog also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Lidojosa Varde The Flying Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing