We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveler rating
486
548
129
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
486
548
129
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car lift morning sauna old town central station nice hotel rain shower lobby bar free wifi the bus shopping mall recommend this hotel deluxe room quality hotel the room was nice comfortable rooms business trip excellent breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2019

+ Good breakfast, decent selection of foods for different tastes
+ Convenient location
+ An eletric kettle available in the room
+ Restaurant staff were positive, polite and helpful
+ Three spacious lifts

- Unfriendly, disinterested front desk, receptionists always seemed bothered when addressed. The guy who checked me in, didn`t give any information about possibilities I had in the hotel (like free sauna, for example). No smile, no polite expressions people are used to hear in hotels to feel welcomed.
- Hotel has one public wi-fi network, which isn`t secured even with a password, in my room the signal was too weak for my phone to actually connect to it. I asked for some solution to this problem, as I needed to use internet, the receptionist said he will look into it, but we never heard from him.
- This may not bother a lot of people, but I can`t be in hot rooms without effective ventilation options. The air was very dry, the cooling system took hours to work (and even then minus 2 degrees), and the window didn`t open. When we asked quite rudely (nothing else seemed to work), we were provided with a window opener though.
- Single bed wasn`t comfortable, it had mattress topper, which started to slide down in the middle of the night, because it wasn`t secured in any way, the same happened with sheets which were all over the place.
- The hotel didn`t provide enough vanity kits/ shower caps / shoe polish kits etc. for the number of guests they were accomodating.
- There were moldy corners in the shower.

Overall, it isn`t a terrible hotel, yet the disadvantages largely outweigh the advantages. I have never felt so unwelcomed in any hotel and I`m not planning to go back there ever. Moreover there are other hotels in the same neighbourhood that are financially friendlier, have higher service standarts and much nicer staff who have positive and can-do attitude.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guntagunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA198880000, Front Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and letting us know your opinion about our hotel!
Please accept our apologies for this stay, which did not meet your expectations.
We were regret to find out that you were not satisfied with our service. The management team takes such kind of issues very seriously and we will pay extra attention to employees involved in this situation. We are putting a lot of effort to develop our service level and make sure that our employees are able to find the solution for any case.
Please, let me also give some comments on technical and operational issues mentioned in your review:
- Our hotel provides open WI-FI network for all the guests, which matches all technical requirements and is secure to use. We are constantly updating our equipment to fulfil requirement of our guests.
- The hotel is equipped with integrated air-conditioning/heating system for which the requirement of closed windows is a must. But as always, we are trying to do our best to make our gust feel comfortable and we can open some windows on request.
- As a part of Tallink group, we are following the basic ecological standards and one of the aim of that is to reduce the volume of waste. This is the reason why we are using minimum of extras like vanity kits. But we are always happy to provide additional shampoo or tooth brush on the reception, free of charge.

We will work on issues you mentioned and hope that if you would stay with us once again you will be pleased with excellent service.

Best regards,
OLGA PRESA
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

Everything worked perfectly from begining to end. The booking was easy to do on the lap top and the acompanying app on the Android phone made checkin easy. The danceorchestra and the shows were very good.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank kjpe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA198880000, Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Dear kjpe02!
Thank you for posting your review. We are happy to hear that booking was easy and that You had a good travel experience. We would be pleased to have you back at our Tallink Hotel Riga soon again.
Best regards,
Una Matisova
Tallink Hotel Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Very nice and clean feeling. Good food in the the hotel restraint and nice drinks in the hotel bar. Overall good experience ! Would also like to give an extra thumbs up to the waiters in the hotel restraunt that made our dinner experience even better.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA198880000, Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Dear Steven P!
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at our Tallink Hotel Riga! Comments like these keep us going! We will pass on your kind words to our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Warmest wishes,
Una Matisova
Tallink Hotel Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019

A quick check -in routine and proffesionally greeted with a smile.
The room was spacious and very clean.
Impressed by the noise insulation, buses on the street could not even be heared in the room. Free high speed internet.
The breakfast presentation is lavish!
Attentive and friendly staff makes the stay memorable!

Room tip: I stayed at 3:d floor, above a busy street and the room was totally quiet!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA198880000, Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Dear Tomas!
Thank you for sharing your experience of Tallink Hotel Riga on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to know that your expectations of our hotel were exceeded and that you had a WOW effect on your stay. These kind of feedbacks are the best motivator for us!
You are very welcome back again!
Warmest wishes,
Una Matisova
Tallink Hotel Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Nice location. Not too much center but just next to it. 5-10 minutes walking to Old Town, railway station, bus station. Also shopping centers (Origo & Stockmann) around the corner. Taxi to Tallink ferry terminal was cheap (~6-8€) and reception suggested a reliable taxi company. Breakfast was excellent. Morning sauna was also a nice way to start a day.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA198880000, Office Manager at Tallink Hotel Riga, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Dear Heikki K!
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for choosing our hotel. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful comments about excelent breakfast, morning sauna and central location.
Looking forward to welcome you in Tallink Hotel Riga soon again!
With kind regards,
Una Matisova
Tallink Hotel Riga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews