We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishy and good.”

Taverna pie Sena Dzintara Cela
Ranked #70 of 1,004 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $59
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fishy and good.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Really good Latvian food. Any fish or lamb is my recommendation. Whole fish on a plate is really great way to serve a dish. Great food and great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zmonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    59
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very native”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Here you will find all the latvian dishes that you have ever heard about. If you are curious of the history and culture of Latvia, and think that the kitchen can express their spirit, come here and try it yourself. We were served by lightning fast waitress and got all that we have asked for right in time. Yet she was alone and I hope that they have more waiters since even lightning fast waiter can't serve all the table they have.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The food was very fresh, the nautical ambience very nice and service was friendly and full of grace. Even the fish in the fishbowl was funny.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkidiki
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very good place”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I’ve chosen it because I saw blackberry cider in their menu. The restaurant is placed in old stone underground and menu is made as ship’s wheel. We took seafood pasta and sausages, beer and cider. I’ve never drink such a wonderful cider, so that made me happy and when I had my pasta, I was finally killed. Well-cooked, plenty of seafood and silky sauce. My boyfriend was also very glad with his beer and sausage. Very nice detail – they bring bill inside of big head of fish!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Popadakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valmiera
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Latvian food and drinks, local music”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The service is fantastic - personal and cring. One can try different local beers and local food there. The waitresses serve also as guides telling about the history, ethnography and traditions in Latvia. Great place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnese I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna pie Sena Dzintara Cela also viewed

 

Been to Taverna pie Sena Dzintara Cela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing