We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice & friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A1 Hotel
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in a three-bed room on the 4th floor and it was big and spacious, all equipment worked perfectly (TV, AC).
Beds were a little too soft for me, but my friends found them just right.
The bathroom is also very big, with a shower you can actually close, which I find a plus.

Cleaning service was excellent.

Breakfast is nice, with a good choice of food and drinks.

The location of the hotel is convenient, you can take a tram to go to the city centre (two stops), but you can also take a 15 minute walk to get there.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    84
    44
    14
    6
See reviews for
26
65
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were a family of 4 and stayed there for a week. Location is perfect (more or less in the middle of the city), rooms are comfy and service is great! Thanks and see you soon! Greetings from Oslo, Norway

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

After the look at reception we expected something bad, but when we went to our room we were pleasantly surprised. Our room and bathroom were very very clean.
The location of the place is excellent - 15 minutes walk to the Central Station or Old town and pretty quiet at night, lots of shops around. Breakfast was nice - something to choose from for everyone.
The only thing they could add - tea/coffee sets in rooms :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Beautifully designed and furnished B&B and a warm welcome by the manager. Walking distance to local pub with lovely pub food. Fabulous breakfast too. I will always try to book here in future when we head to Riga for a city break. The personal touch makes all the difference to just being a room number in a big hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very good hotel with excellent service, rooms are very clean ang sunny.
The staff was very friendly, i've got all information about the city and about currency exchange.
By the Hotel is very good restaurant Lido with latvian national food.
The breakfast was good, cheese, sausages, eggs, kellogs a.o.
I arrived at 8:00 p.m. and it was very good surprise for me that i checkined in the hotel at that time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I loved it I loved it I loved it... :-) such an experience for me and my kid when we stayed at the hotel A1, quite near to the city center. During this time we felt so welcome--especially when we met the owner of the hotel and my kid had a chance to play billiards with them, even receiving some good advices. We learned that each painting in the hotel rooms had been originally made by the owners of the A1 hotel... that's quite unique! The room was cozy and the atmosphere of the hotel during our trip was very relaxing. A good walking distance to the city, too--which we loved so much. Easy access to the city transport too. Thank your for the nice hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruditeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is fantastic, rooms are all clean and the hotel is well kept.
. Stuff quite friendly, with good English. We were early in the hotel and they give us a room before official time of check-in. Quite good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#41 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rixwell Irina Hotel
Rixwell Irina Hotel
#60 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#50 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Hotel

Property: A1 Hotel
Address: Aleksandra Chaka iela 38, Riga 1011, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your A1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing