We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Funky Hostel and Apartments
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Highly Recommended.

Group of 4 looking for a low cost alternative to a hotel. This was out first experience in a hostel and we have absolutely no complaints. We will definitely return.

Staff were very helpful in giving information on the local area/taxis/eating joints etc. The hostel is a 5-10 minute walk to old town, and has various other amenities within a short walking distance. The perfect place if you're looking for somewhere close to the main areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Thank you for a fantastic stay in Riga! The hostel is perfectly located in a very nice area and almost everything is in walking distance. Eve, the host, is a very sweet and nice person and gave us good advice on what to do, where to go and where to eat. Altogether we had a great time and would definetly stay at Funky Barons again. Best wishes from Hamburg M.&C.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insomniahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good central hostel just outside of the old town in Riga, which is within 10min walking distance or 2 tram stops away. Rimi supermarket close by for amenities, nice kitchen to use, free simple breakfast, very nice and helpful staff; thanx Eve! The stairs are not at all too much, and I'm 53..... if I manage, anyone manages. Only drawback is the trams running late on Barona St just below the hostel and staring again early. For a light sleeper like me that means short nights, even with earplugs. Although the second night I sort of got used to it and slept in late.... :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank markk50_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunkyHostel R, Owner at Funky Hostel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

This is very good feedback. We should have thought of this before now. But as a result of this feedback we have decided to make some sound absorbing cushions so guests can choose to place them between the two frames of windows for the rooms facing the tram street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've stayed in a double bed room for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and spacious !
The staff (Eve) is superfriendly and gave us a lot of good recommendations.

By the way. The stairs are very easy to climb and there are less than you think.

Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location in excellent! Rooms, bathroom and toilet are clean. they provide us with light breakfast as well. the host is absolutelly fabualous! She is Aussie - very friendly, helpful and informal! She provided us with all interested information in Riga. We had a separate room for two. And we felt ourselves not like in hostel, but in the small hotel. Higly recommended for short visits if you wanna save your money and have good reasonable service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilya_Zhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Eve (who runs the hostel) is a superwoman! Due to being on a night bus for 42 hrs I wasn't able to confirm my booking. I even showed up a day later. But eve was ok with this and quickly organized around this. Her flexibility and enjoyment for making everyone's stay brilliant is beyond what I've experienced before. I was after a chilled out hostel and that's exactly what I got. Felt very comfortable, safe and cleanliness was immaculate. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissN146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed there 2 night with my parents and we loved this hostel the most in our trip.
The main reason for it was the stuff, who was so helpful, kind and welcoming, that
everytime you saw her you just had a good mood. It is really rare that stuff is that friendly, which is sad because it could cheer up your trip easily. She showed us places that we would never choose from the maps, restaurants for my parents who can't speak English but in that special ones they show it to you.
I liked the location of it, it is really near to the main center, to the parks and the bus/raailway statiton is 10-15 minutes away. The room was nice too, seems like it was painted recently. The only thing which was .disadvantage is that it is on the 4th floor with no elevator (and we had 6 luggages) but the stuff was helping with it too. I'm very staisfied with this Hostel and recommended to everyone, who wants a friendly surrounding for the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.7 mi away
Doma Hostel
Doma Hostel
#21 of 150 in Riga
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 111 in Riga
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Hostel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Hostel and Apartments

Address: Kri jana Barona iela 25 | Top floor, Riga 1011, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $22 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Funky Hostel and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small & friendly hostel in the center of Riga. Owned by Australian/Latvian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Funky Hostel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing