We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Riga
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel.”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very good hotel, stayed here for one night. Very comfortable beds, they moved two twins to make a double however I didn't really mind. Good breakfast, a lot to pick from. The girl working at the bar was very nice. The only thing is the shower was quite small, and even for me who's only 5'3 it was difficult to turn around without accidentally switching it off. However, apart from that I definitely recommend this hotel , very good location as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    440
    190
    49
    28
See reviews for
149
435
100
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The location for exploring old Riga is spot on and for business purposes a taxi ride away. The staff at reception were friendly, and helpful when a taxi was required. The evening meal was excellent, fresh soup, followed by the tuna being cooked perfectly. My room in the 4th floor was quiet, spacious and clean. For about €74.00 for bed & breakfast it offered very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked three nights at The Old Riga Palace for a short city break in Riga. Having read other reviews about Riga we decided to catch the number 22 bus from the airport. Easy to do as it stops right outside the terminal. Cost to the city centre is €1.20 per person each way. A five minute walk via an underpass gets you to the hotel. As our room was not ready we left our luggage in the luggage room and headed off to explore. On returning our room was ready and we had been upgraded to a standard room from an economy room. The room was excellent, with a tv, safe and basic tea-making facilities (only blackcurrant or lemon tea, no coffee!). The bathroom is good, although I would agree with other reviews that the shower is small. I'm not big, but I kept turning the shower off whenever I turned. Breakfast is excellent with yoghurts, breads, cheeses, pastries, bacon, sausage etc. Location of the hotel is excellent. Right on the edge of the old town, close to the bus and train stations. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want an hotel in a very central location at a reasonable cost.
Spent a lot of time exploring Riga and also did two train trips. The first was to the seaside resort of Jurmala. €2.74 for a return train ticket. Journey time about half an hour. There is no Jurmala train station, so you need to get off at Majori. Well worth a visit. As it was out of season it was very quiet, but I imagine it must be very crowded and busy during the summer.
The second trip we did was to the Salaspils memorial to the German work camp which was located there during the Second World War. Not much remains of the actual camp other than some foundations, but there are statues and memorials. Quite a difficult place to find, though. Take a train from Riga to Dārziņi which costs €1.27 return. When you get there you are dropped off in the forest with just a shelter as a station. Cross the railway tracks and walk to the right of the shelter along the dirt track. Keep going parallel to the tracks for about a mile until you come to a road which crosses the railway line. Turn left up the road until you come to a right hand bend. On the bend you will see a track leading off the road which is blocked off by concrete bollards. Adjacent to this track is the car park. Continue up the track until you come to the memorial. There are no sign posts anywhere to be seen, but it's well worth the effort of finding it. On the day that we visited there was no-one else there, which made it very eerie.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mr Nigel H,

Thank you for taking time and effort to share your feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in our hotel in the nearest future and would be happy to suggest some more trips around Latvia.

Best regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager
Welton Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel is located at the quiet street at river side of old town, close to the centrum, bus and railroad station. Rooms are tiny, but nicely decorated and cozy. Every room has minibar, deposit box, iron and ironing board. Free WiFi is available in all facilities. Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was OK, but usually in 4* hotels there is more to choose in between, but in general everybody will find something he likes and no reason to much complain.

Room Tip: Windows of some rooms are facing with other rooms. If you want to have more privacy, ask rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have just spent a week in Riga with my family party of 8 and we stayed at this hotel in the old town. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was typical continental with some hot food and again was of very good quality. The rooms were quite small but adequate and the sauna with Jacuzzi was enjoyed by all of our party although this was at an extra cost. The hotel is close to many of the tourist places and bars and only a 10 minute walk to the station from where you can visit Jurmala and other destinations via train.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here for a week in January. Couldn't really fault anything other than the rooms been a bit small, but they had everything you needed and were well maintained. Good location on the edge of the old town, friendly staff and good choice at breakfast. Our party prebooked the hotels minibus to pick us from the airport which cost us just 3 euros each and got our trip off to a great start. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arriving at the hotel, the first impression always made is by the reception staff, and our impression was that the ladies customer service was not very welcoming, quite tight and formal, and it did not feel like we were very welcome. We had booked a basic double room, the view was OK, the room was clean and it had all the small extras that you expect from a 4 star hotel, the beds were a little small though, and pushed together to make a double bed, which of course means its not a double bed (per say). The breakfast was a disaster. We actually did not eat the breakfast on the second morning of our stay because it was so horrible. There was not much to choose from. It consisted of watery vegetables with no taste, egg omlet that was also watery and had no taste, the juice had run out, the coffee was bad and everything just looked sad and withering, being in the restaurant industry myself, I know a good hotel breakfast and this really was not up to 4 star standards. On leaving the hotel - the receptionist lady was just really rude. She did not ask us if we had a nice stay, she was just very formal and unfriendly. I would not stay in this hotel again, although the rooms are clean, we saw much better ones in better locations as-well for the same price on booking.com. Don't go here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beresford M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O S, Public Relations Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr Beresford,
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments as each opinion of the guest is very important. We would like to explain that already forwarded information to corresponding hotel departments. We hope that next time when staying with us, you would be able to see the difference.

Kind regards,
Olga Stavinska.
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#36 of 109 in Riga
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Property: Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing