We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. This hotel is a 5 min walk from the Old town square and surrounded by attractions and restaurants. The hotel staff is super friendly and when they could not find the room type that I booked available, they immediately upgraded me to the nicest rooms in the hotel. Room was spacious, comfortable and with quality fixtures. Free high speed wifi and included breakfast (limited choices though) were welcome too.

Room Tip: Choose the 6th floor (top) for the biggest rooms in the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharadmhta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest

We are pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standart, especially our rooms. We would also like to thank you for positive comments about our team members who provided you excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Elefant Hotel.


Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and we were greeted and shown to our rooms - no problem so far. Unfortunately the aircondition in one of the rooms was not working, and even though we told them every day, they did not manage to get it fixed, and we were offered absolutely no compensation! They simply did not care.

One of the rooms was extremely tiny and the shower unusable for people size XL or more. The breakfast buffet was in my opinion really bad - i have had better breakfast in french motorway hotels! But I guess that that taste differs from country to country.

Tho good part wars the location: central but still relatively quiet. Good bar, clean rooms, friendly staff in the reception. But it seemed that the hotel was run by 20-something year old people. Good service, great english but without any means to get much done.

There are so many hotels i central Riga, and should I return, I would probably try another one. But that should not keep you from booking the Old Riga Palace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClausO70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us.We are disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. We like to explain that guests who like more comfort ,we always suggest to choose Superior comfortable seating area. Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible. Like to inform that your comments has already forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments.

Thank you one more time for your comments we appreciate that stay with us and we will be more than happy to welcome back.


Best Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked this hotel three months in advance but yet when we tried to check in we were advises they had double booked and sent us miles outside the city centre to a bloody hostel that smelt like urine and I had to sleep in the floor despite paying for a four star hotel with spa treatments we couldn't even get a drink or bite to eat and they were so so rude to us!!! The hotel couldn't of cared less that they had double booked and sent us out to the sticks and were also rude, I've never ever received serviceable this in my life and the staff couldn't of cared less- don't waste your money here guys cause u won't even get to stay here!!! Liars!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 781Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear, Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to review our Old Riga Palace hotel. We truly value the opinions of our custumers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We already forwarded your comments to corresponding hotel and we already fix these problems, more like to inform that we are constantly improving our services - including personal staff trainings.

We hope to see you again in the futute and wish you the very best.

Best Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this Hotel recently and was initially worried about the surroundings- not a particularly salubrious area of Riga with derelict buildings next door and up the road but I need not have worried.

This Hotel is extremely well positioned with the river front seconds away and the central part of Old Riga less than 5 mins walk- just ignore the old ruins!! My room (number 101) was small but then I only booked a single room but very smart. Bathroom too was smart but a bigger person than me would have had a problem fitting through the shower opening. My room was very well air conditioned. I believe I was lucky here because I heard other people complain that the air conditioning in their rooms did not work and indeed the public rooms lacked air conditioning.

Staff that I came in contact with were friendly and spoke reasonable English. Breakfast was extremely good with plenty of choice. There was a small under used bar which I eat and drank in once- a good meal on my first night before I discovered other bars/restaurants in the town.

All in all, a good value Hotel. I enjoyed my stay very much and would stay again if I ever go back to Latvia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davefel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.Custumer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of the Wellton Hotels in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Assistant Marketing manager
Wellton Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

.We had booked this particular hotel as we know Old Riga quite well and wanted to stay in that particular area as the bars and restaurants are quite good there and we wanted to indulge in the Spa of this hotel also.
we arrived late in the evening having flown into Riga and getting delayed at passport control. When we eventually got to the hotel, tired and hungry we were rudely told by the very unhelpful receptionist that they had double booked and did not have a room available for us, despite us booking our room 3 months previous. There was no apology given. We were then bundled into a taxi and brought 12km outside of the city to what I can only describe as a hostel. Nowhere to get a bite to eat or a night cap. The alternate accoodation that was provided to us was horrific, it stank of human urine in the corridors and the bedroom was so small that you couldn'teven close the door, there was only 2 beds also despite us paying for a triple room and one of our party had to sleep on a sofa. When we contacted the hotel the next morning they said they would send a car to being us back in to the city complementary, we waited over 2 hours for this car to arrive and despite calling them back several times, they lied to us each time saying the car was only a few minutes away which led to us missing our travel arrangements that we had paid in advance for. Again no apology was given. We eventually sorted our own transport back to the hotel to complain to the manager, who to be fair did empathise with us but still never arranged any sort of refund or compensation, in the end the hotel finally arranged transport after a 2 hour wait again to our destination as we had missed the pre arranged transport we had organised but at this stage we had lost half a day and were so mad it ruined our trip. We are still waiting to be refunded for the room we paid for and never got.

Room Tip: there are better choices in Old Riga where you might actually get to stay in the hotel that you book...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loumogou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you like to have a glass of sparkling wine at breakfast, this is your choice. Very near to old city and attractions. You can walk to shopping centre nearby. Public traffic connections are great. Not many tv channels, but who needs them anyway... If you are oversized, don't take economy room cause you don't fit into the shower cabinet. Breakfast usual. I recommend.

Room Tip: Shower cabinets tiny in economy rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cikkis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent three night here with few friends and I have really nothing to complain. Nice and clean place and you can find everything needed near. Taxi to airport costs ten lats and bus 0,70. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rondiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear , Rondiye
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are certainly happy to hear that generally you were satisfied whit your stay with us and we appreciated your positive feedback on our location.
Even you would like to try another hotels in Riga , We truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Kindest regards,
Matiss Cesnieks
Assitant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#37 of 110 in Riga
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 110 in Riga
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $41 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing