We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here just for one night after flying into Riga late.
I stayed in double room on the third floor which was cramped and uncomfortable. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned, the rubbish bin in bathroom was full to the top. The bath mat was wet, obviously someone had been in there before I arrived. But because I was too tired after my long trip from New Zealand I couldn't be bothered to go down to the reception and complain, I wish I had though.
I checked out next day. The checking out experience was very, very poor. There were three receptionists at front desk but only one of them seemed to be doing something. When I approached one of them she told me to wait and started dialing phone. She was on the phone for more than five minutes while I was standing and waiting - all I needed to do was to return my key cause I had prepaid my room.
i was very disappointed and I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Do not choose a standard double room - they are tiny and uncomfortable even for one person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was nice, clean and comfortable with helpfull staff, the cleaning personal is not good in english though. Very good breakfast buffet with champagne and vodka included as well as good coffee and local pastries.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Despite being relatively new, this hotel has a genteel charm and a peaceful ambience. Excellent food - though the restaurant is quite expensive - with an enormous buffet breakfast.
Ideal situation for the Old Town and metres from a tram stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Comfortable hotel situated in the south west corner of the old town, 5 minutes from most things, clean hotel with very friendly staff and a good breakfast, no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is an old refurbished hotel and a lot of he rooms are a little small so if you want a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I arrived at the hotel around 11:30 and had to wait until 1:30 to get into my room but they were able to keep my suitcase in the storage room. The staff was helpful in arranging a taxi for my early morning trip back to the airport but I was unfortunately too early to enjoy my free breakfast. The hotel was very close to the train station and Town Square Hall along with the rest of Old Riga which was great! My room was very small but very clean and cozy. One thing that wasn't so convenient, however, were the thin walls as I could hear my neighbour moving around and people talking in the hallways late in the evening. I also would not recommend the spa as my masseuse was lovely and well priced but she talked a lot and didn't seem like she knew exactly what she was doing - especially with the foot massage. Overall a great place to stay that I would recommend to anyone staying in Riga!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived at hotel 2 hours early, but the room was ready and we were surprised of how nice the reception and public areas were! The room was a bit small, but pretty, clean and had everything you could need ( kettle, toiletries, sewing kit, snacks, mini-bar, ironing board, heater, even- umbrella). As we only stayed for one night, the size was not an issue. We had dinner in the downstairs restaurant and it was delicious! As well as great price-the bill for 2 meals and 3 drinks was about 14 Lats. However, afterwards we realised that waitress must have kept the change as tip :). Breakfast had lots of choices, anything from cereal to chicken and rice and shots of alcoholic drinks! Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout the stay and even let my brother to use hotel's phone to ring our room when he arrived to collect us! The hotel is very close to both coach station and old town, but it appeared that few nearest buildings were empty and not looked after. Overall- great place and value for money and would recommend it to other travelers!

Room Tip: If staying for a few days, may want to book a bigger room, as standard was not very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sulavesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Hotel is realy good. Not luxury, but good enough. I was with 2 friends. This hotel is in the best place, in the center, close for everything. I envoy my days in that city, and in that hotel. Realy good

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaportoOporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
1 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#28 of 111 in Riga
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#39 of 111 in Riga
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 111 in Riga
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#30 of 111 in Riga
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riga
#14 Family Hotel in Riga
#30 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $35 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing