We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel , good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“great hotel , good location”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a good place for a short break in Riga,; Very handily situated near the Old town but not right in the busy spot but only a minute or two walk. Excellent for the airport bus.Very clean and the one of the best stocked mini bars Ive seen for a while if thats what you like! (also vodka and fizzy wine on ice for breakfast if you're into that as certainly some Swedes and Russians seem to be!)
We booked through OTEL.COM and it was about £50 a night BB which is great value. Recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    421
    173
    41
    25
See reviews for
138
408
95
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

About 7 mins walk from Riga bus station its in the old town, rooms are spacious and clean, there is a well stocked mini bar. They have a decent bar at the hotel behind the reception. Its bit more on the expensive side but than again most places in riga are expensive compared to Estonia and Lithuania.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a great stay at the old Riga Palace and are returning there on our way back to Tbilisi, Georgia. The hotel staff was pleasant, quite helpful, and spoke excellent English. Our room was well kept, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, something for every taste. i am a bacon and egg freak and my wife is a veggie nut case and we thought the assortment of
yummies was outstanding. Also, the location in "old town" was super.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and our room had a sloped ceiling. Awkward to say the least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MALKYPOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We went toRiga on the 23rd May this year 2012 and had a brilliant time, the hotel was very good despite some reviews. a great breakfast and you could eat in the hotel for dinner 3 courses with wine for 12 lats (about £13.00) plentiful portions to the extent we could not eat a sweet.
A must is the red tour bus go all round first time and then see what you fancy doing although a lot is walkable. the week we were there was the renown beer festival in the park absolutely superb not just beer but lots of entertainment as well.going on until dark
Another plus that week was a train ride to Jurmala at morning around 45 minute train ride for (£1. English equiv.) you get off at Majori. check which day it is but there is a fantastic parade and exhibitions stalls etc entertainmenr from the children .After walk along the main street where all the shops and restaurants are , you can go down any one and you come to the beach 35 kilometres of lovely clean sands.
All this for just one train ride and resulted in a perfect day.Take a sail along Daugava as well
the weather when we were there was great but that I have no control of. We are a group of 4 ladies who like to travel to places such as these having been previously to Prague Budapest krakow and Tallin.Vilnius is our next visit hopefully. HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ALL

Room Tip: we were in rooms 605 607 at the top of the hotel but they are bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good price, we bougth a dobbel superiour room, they where big and have a nice balcony.
The staff and spesial the front desk gave an excellent service. The breakfast was very good with a lot of different choices, healty and .. Will be back in Old Riga Palace ;-)

Room Tip: Go for upgraded room with balcony if you prefer to have som space. The dbl and trippel room are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2O40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Really handie for Old Town & incredible Central Market (former WW1 Zeppelin Balloon hangers) Breakfast includes (if your that way inclined) glasses of bubblie and shots of vodka if you need a pick me up or to kick start the day! Economy double room we had was TINY - a modest single room JUST big enough for the 3/4 size bed and the person on the window side 'shuffling' round bed to get in & out - but Bathroom nicely done and room would be OK if not spending any time in there other than sleeping! Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe not an "Economy Double" ? Unless your not fussed about space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinrid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempele
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Despite of not so good immediate surroundings and fact that at least standard rooms seems to be very small sized this hotel turned to be excellent place to stay located between market halls and the old town. Rooms were very good quality and clean as other premises too.
BTW they served vodka and sparkling wine at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeikkiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Property: Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing