We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in the heart of the (old) city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domini Canes

Domini Canes
Ranked #11 of 942 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Latvian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the heart of the (old) city”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I Lived in Riga for two years. Everyone who visited me I took to this restaurant and we all agreed: BEST ONE!
Good foods, nice atmosphere, good wines in the middle of the city. Enjoy a romantic night or a fun evening with friends, business deals..it's all possible just go there and enjoy.
best starter: smoked salmon and rösti
Best dishes: parmesan crusted butterfish and seafood pasta.
desrts: all
wine: all

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaminRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    403
    111
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As good as reported”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Going on Trip Advisor recommendations we decided on trying this restaurant. What a result. The ambiance, service, wine, and most importantly the food, were all fantastic. We had soup, tomato and cream of vegetable, and fish, butterfish and cat fish, and an apple pie to share for dessert. Everything was perfectly cooked and presented. The Brazilian white was a perfect accompaniment too. The restaurant is located just behind St Peter's church which is where the taxis drop off and pick from. Riga is a small town but has a surprisingly large amount of great restaurants, this one being the best so far for us. So far the general food prices have been medium UK restaurant prices, but with better quality of food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2snares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Everything was just perfect. Even if we were a little late, we could eat a perfect gourmet menu. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant seems to be known by the locals to be one of the best ones in town.

Helpful?
Thank marchxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Old Riga”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I do really like this place and always recomend it if I am asked where to eat in Old town.
My very favourites are Caesar salad and tomato soup. But what I really like about them - you can always ask to change something or describe aproximately what you would like to have and it will be prepared (it is nice if you travel with children who not always eat everything what is on their plate). :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“romantic”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had very good dinner. Food quality was good, presentation beautiful, good size of portion. We had tuna and the medium was perfect. Also I had one of the best cosmopolitan drinks ever! Had to take 2.. and the wine list was also very good and serving the wine perfect! Casual but a little "better" dinner experience. Love it with all my heart!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TuijaWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domini Canes also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Domini Canes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing