We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salve

Salve
Ranked #18 of 935 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: European, Balti, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Salve" - a restaurant that represents Riga city cuisine There's no better way to express the uniqueness of the people, its habits and tastes than through national cuisine. Restaurant Salve offers a taste of traditional Latvian cuisine in an elegant city manner. Restaurant Salve, which is located in the historic Blue Guard House which is part of the complex of the House of Blackheads on the Town Hall Square - the heart of Old Riga - is the right place to look for exquisite cuisine and enjoy the specialties of the capital. We offer to appraise the elegant and at the same time cozy atmosphere of the restaurant with a fine Dutch style interior to all citizens of Riga and its guests. Internationally trained chefs and waiters guarantee exquisite food flavor and high service standards. In Latin, "Salve" means - "Welcome!" Which excellently reflects the essence of the restaurant, as each guest is gladly welcome there.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to Salve after reading the reccomendations on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. This place is great. We had the sauerkraut soup, liver patty, home made dumplings (pilmeni) and home made sausage. All was well made and served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonatanMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    236
    78
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
549 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“More than 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a "must": every detail is around or at perfection. The welcome friendly and warmhearty, the interior with love to every detail - in an authentic "old fashioned style", the food worth of a "Michelin Star", both prepared and served with dedication. This is among the best reommendations I can give for a restaurant, and thus highly recommended for everyone staying in Riga. Go at your first evening, as you might most probably decide to come back again as soon as possible!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Profoundly ordinary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is one of those restaurants that make you die a little inside. Not because it's bad, but because it's deeply unremarkable. It serves up bland and un-loved, pseudo-ethnic fare without any trace of passion or enthusiasm. Nothing I ate there was unpleasant; it's just that it contributed precisely zero to the sum of culinary experiences. I tipped the waiter because he looked bored. I actually felt sorry for him. I hope he is saving up so he can realise his pipe dream one day. Sorry "Salve" but I am not sure what you hope to "Salve" anyone from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_c_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Latvian Food in a nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our server was very helpful and friendly and went out of her way to make sure we were happy. The food was very good. The location is very convenient and pleasant. The only negative was the Creme Brûlée had an odd texture and was light brown instead of the smooth creamy light color normally expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Instanttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice of restaurant in Riga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very friendly staff who could speak excellent English. Very prompt attention and attention to detail. Food very tasty and presented well. Sat outside on the terrace which was lovely even though it was in the shade by that time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salve also viewed

 

Been to Salve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing