We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest disappointment of trip”
Review of Trattoria del Popolo - CLOSED

Trattoria del Popolo
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment of trip”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

In 9 days of travel between Riga and Tallinn, this was the biggest disappointment. There are few restaurants open on a Sunday night in Riga so the choice was limited. The two guys working were horsing around behind the bar when we sat down. I wanted to walk out and in hindsight wish I had. My pasta wasn't bad, but they served us our two dinners and then followed it with the bruschetta appetizer which wasn't very good. It could have been a good experience had the service been better and we felt welcomed as we had in so many other restaurants. The room itself is cozy and inviting, but the staff was not.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very close to St Peters and the Konventa Seta Hotel. Delightful interior, superb food, a bit expensive compared to others in the town, surly service, but this is common throughout Riga.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

One of my favourite places to eat proper quality dinner in Riga!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iveri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We liked it!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.
Great place, excellent food, low price and friendly people.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peterschweiz99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Umm, it is an okay place”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Out of all "Italian restaurants" in Riga, this one is in top 3, but it doesn't mean it is amazing. Its just the thing that there are no amazing Italian restaurants in RIga. They have decent food, decent service, and little terrace during summer. In my opinion, they could really improve their wine selection, apart from finally making pizza from real doe in a real oven.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baycoralore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria del Popolo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing