We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, beautiful hotel, good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful hotel, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

The hotel was excellent, the location was great - easy to walk to all the main attractions that old town Riga has to offer. The hotel was opened in 2007/2008 and its easy to see, as its very well finished and in excellend condition.

The staff were friendly and curteous and had a reasonable enough grasp of english to communicate.

The rooms were well appointed and spacious and the rooms were well maintained.

The only drawback about the hotel was the buffet breakfast, which was mediocre and apparently the coffee/tea wasn't great.

The hotel has an attached restaurant, Le Crab, which is one of the top restaurants in the city

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frazad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    246
    68
    12
    10
See reviews for
98
275
55
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Classified as a Boutique hotel, Hotel Justus is a beautiful, comfortable, warm hotel in a great location. The staff are in odd uniforms, I have no idea why there is a lobster on all the photos in the restaurant, but who cares. Lovely place to lay your head.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLAT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ski
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. Teh hotel had an excellent location in the old town, near to the Dome and restaurant Rozengral which I can recommend. Our room was nice, but we heard some noise form the streets, our room was at the front of the hotel.

The staff were very helpful and serviceminded.

But the breakfsst was poor. They said they made omelet with bacon, but we didnt see that. There was not much to choose among. Could be much better to that price and to that standard the hotel wants to give.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

I feel I have to add my bit to the reviews on breakfast at this hotel! I know it isn't the most important part of the stay but it does certainly add a huge part to your overall impression of a hotel. Although as others have said there is a sign at the door saying that you should ask for a fresh omelette to be made for you and the leaflets on the tables say this also, when I did ask I was just escorted over to the buffet tables and shown the huge tray of scrambled egg. Two of the four mornings that we were there the eggs had ham or bacon in them so I couldn't eat them or any of the other hot food (sausages etc), so the breakfast was a bit of a waste of time for me as a vegetarian. It would be nice if the hotel could make sure the hot food was edible for all, or at least provide the omelettes that they proclaimed that they did! The rest of the breakfast was quite uninspired and the coffee had always run out when we got there. Because of this coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms would be very nice but there is nothing at all.

I was expecting a lot from this hotel and while it is quite stylish I think there is something missing. The room was spotlessly clean but nothing special really, I booked a junior suite as a nice surprise for my boyfriend and was a bit disappointed, it was quite an average room so there was nothing very surprising about it when we got there. There are a few of the four star touches missing I think. We overlooked Jauniela Street which could be really noisy at times (not the fault of the hotel obviously). The staff varied really, some were pleasant, some not so much. The restaurant (Le Crabe) is nice but expensive. It's an OK hotel but I wouldn't especially recommend it, and it's disappointing when a hotel doesn't seem to respond to its own criticism on Trip Advisor and make an effort to improve based on it. I give it full points for cleanliness and the design of the lobby, average points for everything else. It's a bizarre uniform they make the male staff wear too, baggy striped trousers that look like a skirt?! Oh and room service was 5 lats on top of anything you might order just for bringing it to your room, pretty expensive really, I think they don't want to encourage food and drink being brought to rooms which again is not a very 4 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_linzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel is very new and the finishings are nice. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge and looked great. However, air conditioning wasn't coping well with the hot weather. Overall enjoyed the stay and had read negative comments about breakfast. Having experienced it I would have to agree breakky is poor and not the requisite standard for a 4 star hotel. We were there 1/2 an hour before it was supposed to finish but the spread was pretty bare, and they started packing up well before closing time. We just didn't bother eating it the second morning.

My review would have been a lot more positive were it not for the fact that the Hotel almost caused us to miss our connecting flight. We were on route to Russia for a wedding and we asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to the airport. They booked us a taxi, for which we pre-paid in full, but when it failed to arrive they did nothing to follow it up and treated it with very little urgency or care. Only when my boyfriend pushed for them to call the taxi did they do so, and they were reluctant to reimburse us. The taxi they ordered still hadn't arrived after 40 mins, but fortunately we found our own cab and made our flight.

For a hotel - arranging transfers to airports is a pretty integral part of the service. So for their appalling behaviour in that regard I would not recommend this place.

Shame given that it looks good and is very well located. Stay here if you want, but just beware that the reviews about breakfast are accurate, and whilst some of the staff are ok, others are NOT!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel has a fab location right in the old city and close to the best eating and drinking places.the hotel room was good but during the summer heatwave aircon found it a struggle! There are only two downsides to this hotel, firstly staff on reception don't smile and secondly breakfast is poor quality and very limited choice. It is such a shame the hotel management haven't read previous reviews and acted upon them, this hotel could be so very good.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissiel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I arrived to the hotel in an early afternoon and the room was ready. Easy to find the hotel and good location in Old Town. Nice clean room, ok size. Free internet, very small desk to have your laptop on. TV channels were not programmed according to the instructions and very few english speaking channels (only CNN worked), many German and French channels. The breakfast included was ok, not more. Very few options of bread available, but a lot of cheese, ham, and vegatabiles available.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom_L_189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing