We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riga”
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Charming hotel, very well converted historic building with imaginative touches thoughout. Excellent location in the Old Town.

I stayed for a short stopover for the Christmas Markets, which were small but very uncommercialsed and unspoiled. The city is beautiful and I would happily visit again.

Breakfast has fine (a notch above average but not stunning). Staff were mixed - the girl on the desk for my check in was efficient but not very welcoming. The two young men during the day were much friendlier.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 768 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in the old city of riga. The rooms are very clean and intimate. The breakfast was good. There was wifi. and the people behind the reception are friendly. Also the transfer to the airport is very shortly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ydob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in cold December. Hotel was excellent with friendly helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. Went to visit Christmas market which was a little disappointing but hotel fantastic in great location for all Riga has to offer . If you book a superior room make sure you make use of the sauna.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadja64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is a great hotel with fantastic style and nice staff. The breakfast was plentiful and interesting; at times it felt like playing Russian roulette with what you were about to eat! But there is enough familiar stuff to satisfy less adventurous palettes too.

The room was nice and warm and clean, not as big as some of the pictures I'd seen but decent size. We asked for extra pillows and bedding and the staff brought it straight away. They also let me take a breakfast plate to our room as my husband was ill. The location is fantastic but...

... the location means that there is quite a lot of noise at night, especially at weekends but I think a lot of old town Riga is like this. Perhaps the hotel should supply ear plugs!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and facing away from the street if you, like me, cannot sleep with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayemarie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Romantic hotel with a great location in the old town of Riga. It was surrounded by many nice restaurants and bars. The rooms were clean and quiet and the breakfast was good and versatile. We can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emiliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stylish, clean, modern and cozy! Perfectly situated in the very centre of Riga, so you have everything in a walking distance. The restaurant is marvelous, the service is brilliant, however it feels damn cold in the winter (outside only! the hotel is very warm :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgorKirillov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and the hotel is wonderful and ideally situated it the old town of Riga, just a sones throw away from everything. The staff are so friendly and very helpful with any query you have, they do go out of their way for you. The hotel is gorgeous with lots of character, our room was lovely and large and very comfortable and clean, the shower was huge and lots of hot water. We didnt have much of a view but then everything you need to see is just outside! The breakfast is very good too and unusual, many things I haven't seen before at breakfast! The on site restaurant we ate in on our first day was very nice too, we had the business lunch and it was very good value. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracye71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 111 in Riga
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 111 in Riga
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 111 in Riga
674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#13 of 111 in Riga
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Phone Number:
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $64 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing