We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel with a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel with a great location”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Romantic hotel with a great location in the old town of Riga. It was surrounded by many nice restaurants and bars. The rooms were clean and quiet and the breakfast was good and versatile. We can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    251
    68
    12
    10
See reviews for
100
278
56
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stylish, clean, modern and cozy! Perfectly situated in the very centre of Riga, so you have everything in a walking distance. The restaurant is marvelous, the service is brilliant, however it feels damn cold in the winter (outside only! the hotel is very warm :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorKirillov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenerife
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and the hotel is wonderful and ideally situated it the old town of Riga, just a sones throw away from everything. The staff are so friendly and very helpful with any query you have, they do go out of their way for you. The hotel is gorgeous with lots of character, our room was lovely and large and very comfortable and clean, the shower was huge and lots of hot water. We didnt have much of a view but then everything you need to see is just outside! The breakfast is very good too and unusual, many things I haven't seen before at breakfast! The on site restaurant we ate in on our first day was very nice too, we had the business lunch and it was very good value. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracye71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel Justus was great choice for visit in Riga. Great friendly and helpful staff, really clean rooms, even under the bed.
We were lucky and didn't hear any noise during the night as others reviewers wrote. And the breakfast was really tasteful. Each day bit different. And if you wish, you can ask waiter and they will make you omelet as you wish (with bacon is better than with cheese ;)
As we booked superior room we had private launch and sauna included in the price of the room (just don't forget to take towel from room).

Room Tip: Great self service restaurant Alus seta on Tirgonu iela for sweet go just next door - love their cak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are very pleased to have stayed at Hotel Justus! The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. The location is superb. The hotel room was tidy and cosy. The only negative critic is that the parking space for the car was a bit hard to reach. Thank you for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff was friendly, our room was nice, clean and unique style, the best things were the restaurant in hotel(lovely food) and the private lobby with sauna-amazing!!! was strange not to find slippers and bathropes though.... but we really enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: rooms with windows to the street has noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went with my parents and had a suite on the 4th floor. There was enough space and the room was clean. Shampoo, soap, skin lotion and hair dryer were provided as well as wireless internet which had some connectivity problems in the room (no username/password was needed so multiple gadgets could be connected when it worked). We had two LCD televisions and also ethernet plugs which we didn't try out.

The location was really good near the occupation museum. The buffet style breakfast was quite good in the restaurant been part of the hotel. There was some noise coming out of the street during weekend nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#7 of 109 in Riga
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Property: Hotel Justus
Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing