We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Justus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Justus
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and the hotel is wonderful and ideally situated it the old town of Riga, just a sones throw away from everything. The staff are so friendly and very helpful with any query you have, they do go out of their way for you. The hotel is gorgeous with lots of character, our room was lovely and large and very comfortable and clean, the shower was huge and lots of hot water. We didnt have much of a view but then everything you need to see is just outside! The breakfast is very good too and unusual, many things I haven't seen before at breakfast! The on site restaurant we ate in on our first day was very nice too, we had the business lunch and it was very good value. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracye71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 769 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel Justus was great choice for visit in Riga. Great friendly and helpful staff, really clean rooms, even under the bed.
We were lucky and didn't hear any noise during the night as others reviewers wrote. And the breakfast was really tasteful. Each day bit different. And if you wish, you can ask waiter and they will make you omelet as you wish (with bacon is better than with cheese ;)
As we booked superior room we had private launch and sauna included in the price of the room (just don't forget to take towel from room).

Room Tip: Great self service restaurant Alus seta on Tirgonu iela for sweet go just next door - love their cak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are very pleased to have stayed at Hotel Justus! The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. The location is superb. The hotel room was tidy and cosy. The only negative critic is that the parking space for the car was a bit hard to reach. Thank you for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff was friendly, our room was nice, clean and unique style, the best things were the restaurant in hotel(lovely food) and the private lobby with sauna-amazing!!! was strange not to find slippers and bathropes though.... but we really enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: rooms with windows to the street has noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartynaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went with my parents and had a suite on the 4th floor. There was enough space and the room was clean. Shampoo, soap, skin lotion and hair dryer were provided as well as wireless internet which had some connectivity problems in the room (no username/password was needed so multiple gadgets could be connected when it worked). We had two LCD televisions and also ethernet plugs which we didn't try out.

The location was really good near the occupation museum. The buffet style breakfast was quite good in the restaurant been part of the hotel. There was some noise coming out of the street during weekend nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank consttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a cool hotel--very interesting furnishings, decoration and interior design make the Hotel Justus stand out. Not in the cold and modern minimalist sense, but rather in a warm sense that was very nice. They put a lot of thought into designing this hotel, and it shows.

My room was nice...not too big, but certainly big enough, with an excellent shower, etc.

The breakfast was good, in a dining room that reflects the cool character of the rest of the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect---on a smaller street, but a short stroll down a cobblestone street gets you right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Old Riga. I did not experience any noise issues with this hotel.

I would highly recommend this place, and it's an excellent value for the money. I only gave it four stars, because it's not quite on the same level as the Neiburgs and the Bergs, where I also stayed. But I would definitely stay at the Hotel Justus again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulyDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is located in the centre of Riga - equally between the 'House of the Blackheads' and the Dome (cathedral). Despite having a room on the street front, it was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A particular bonus was the chauffeur driven Mercedes from the airport (arranged beforehand for an extra 20 Euro as we had a late arrival). Breakfast was excellent, with some interesting dishes. The room itself was full of character and well-equipped, it was very clean and well-maintained during our stay. The hotel as a whole is deliberately 'quirky' which was great fun - we particularly enjoyed the Banksy-style murals on the walls and the use of wooden Latvian grain baskets as lampshades. Overall an excellent experience which we would have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#11 of 112 in Riga
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 112 in Riga
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avalon
Hotel Avalon
#14 of 112 in Riga
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Justus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Justus

Address: Jauniela 24, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $64 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Justus 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star boutique Hotel Justus is located in the very of the old town of Riga, literally a few steps away from the famous Dome cathedral, within the architectural area protected by UNESCO as a part of world heritage. The immaculate renovation of the historical building was completed by April 2009, and so today the authentic facade conceals 45 cosy rooms uniquely designed to embrace the charm of genuine brickwork combined with fascinating art objects, antique as well as contemporary. Personalised service matched with attractive pricing policy makes Hotel Justus of great interest for a wide range of guests. The hotel’s site possesses high historical value, since it was part of the plot of land selected by Bishop Albert as the location for his Baltic residence back in 1210. However, the medieval wooden housing was destroyed by the fire in the 17th century, so the architectural ensemble comprising Jauniela Street today dates back to the 18th century. The facade of the hotel itself underwent the last major alteration in 1874. The building hosted a tavern in the early 19th century that was later replaced by typography and lithography services, in the 20th century it was occupied by artisan workshops, pharmaceutical laboratories, and then a cinema gallery and offices. Charms of architecture and historical atmosphere made this place a favourite shooting spot of Soviet movie-makers. Now the hotel belongs to a small group of friends that has spotted an empty run-down building and revived it with artistic energy.Idea of making restaurant Aleks comes from the simple desire to enjoy Riga of the beginning of the previous century. Interior is made from the household items of those times, which gives the restaurant unique look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Justus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing