We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious place”

Restaurant Desiderata
Ranked #295 of 983 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $25 - $46
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Desiderata locataed in Old Town of Riga with orginal interior - warm , comforting with wonderful lighting and exclusive design elements – the part of the floor reveals a 16th century well and old city walls . Desiderata has created a bright and beautiful space that is the perfect setting for a good lunch or dinner.Neverthless, we take most pride in our cuisine and service. The Chef presents delectable internationla gourmet menu thats’s truly a master work. The tases and aroma will set your mount watering for more of this secretive skills. Desiderata is a special place where to mark a momentous occasion, or easily impress any client or quest.
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gracious place”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

One of the best places in the city - delicious meal (smoked duck salad and shrimps as main course ) Elegant atmosphere, calm music and selfish waiter Dmitry ) But we had great time ! Prices : 2 salads 2 main 1 bottle house wine Pinot Grigio Italian = 75 euro without tips

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank July_Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    15
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First class food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a meal here yesterday evening. The food was first class, the service friendly and efficient, the decor unusual but fairly tasteful and the price was reasonable.

I can certainly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ufa, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Silent and delicious - in the very heart of tourist life”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Old Riga is very overcrowded on a sunny saturday day, so we were looking for a calm place to have a lunch. Once we got inside this restaurant, it felt like in another world. It is located in a cellar, part of the floor is made of glass, so you can see the anscient well under it. Truly delight for the eyes! Decided to take any dishes with the word "latvian" from the menue and that was a good idea! Chicken breast was not much to remember about, but great risotto with latvian mushrooms and desert - assorted creams, made of latvian berries - are still on my mind!

"Desiderata" is definitely a pricey option, but going here at least for a desert in the middle of your Riga exploration may be a precious experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tx3hrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal Square Hotel and booked this stunning Restaurant below . The interior is amazing with a glass floor illuminating a ancient well below .Big Versace style chairs are very comfortable .
Food was fantastic as was the price €130 for 4 including wines and beers !!
The only thing missing was other diners !! Saturday night at 8 and we where the only diners ! Why ?
C'mon Royal Square spend more time and effort telling all about your hidden gem

Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best in Riga!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

You won't get wrong having dinner here. The restaurant is beautiful (great place for a romantic dinner), the service and the food are very good. A mix of international and Latvian cuisine.
I've been to Riga many times and i almost always have dinner at Desiderata.
Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Desiderata also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Restaurant Desiderata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing