We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a real Hostel - Not a Youth Club!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub
Ranked #10 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its a real Hostel - Not a Youth Club!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been using the pub and hostel here since they opened all those years back. I have stayed in many places around the world and for sure this place is not sterile or boring.

Not all of the light bulbs work but that just adds to the character of the space. Staff are fun and honest, just my advice to people looking for a hotel or a fancy flashpackers palace is to look elsewhere. This is a space for travelers, beer lovers and over 21s....

You are sure to love this place if you remember how independent hostels used to be before the days of internet bookings. I should point out I stayed here many times before I moved to Riga, have placed family and friends a like in their caring hands and have probably consumed far too much alcohol in the pub downstairs.

Not everything runs like clockwork but the bunks are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
17
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The first time I entered the place, it was not organised in any sense. Yes, John, the irishman is a little crazy, but quirky and nice once you get past the crazy appearance. My check-in was very quick and a little sloppy, half-way through the check-in something was happening outside and he almost ran outside with my passport still in hand from checking me in. Luckily he stopped at the door. I freaked out just a little bit.

I went up the 5 floors of stairs to my dorm, which was ok. The place in general could have done with a more thorough clean and maintenance. The functioning of the shower and toilet was good, but the bathroom could have a bit more time put into it. On top of that, the wi-fi advertised is very bad and didn't even work while I was there. Despite them letting people use the one computer with internet downstairs, one thing I look at when I book somewhere is whether they have wi-fi.

It is old and run down, and I probably would not have gone there if I knew it would be like that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I don't actually know anything about what this hostel is like on the inside because I didn't get past the obnoxious Irishman at the door, but I do now know that the staff are incredibly rude and unpleasant. I had to go and find somewhere else as a consequence. This place makes Fawlty Towers look friendly. Terrible. Just terrible.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Starovagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

That place had really cool people staying there, fun party going on, drinks to early morning and dancing on the counter table. Great!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CyberSurrealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plzen
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2010

i know the hostel for years as i used to live in Riga. i have also seen it with different staff and under different management. one thing has been consistent, the people working there have always been great, many became friends.

i also stayed there last year as i was visiting and had a great time, as always - john (the not-so-new-anymore manager) is doing a great job and is a lot of fun to hang out with. i just love this pub, can't you relocate the whole thing to the Czech Republic?? i miss having my beer and partying in the "backpackers pub".

what kinda makes it special is that it's not a touristy place, sounds weird but is true. you've got your set of travelers and backpackers and then a whole host of local guys and girls who frequent the place. and that's awesome because it gives you the chance to easily meet people from Latvia, find out which places are worth seeing, what other clubs and bars are fun at the moment, etc. , etc.

even if you do stay elsewhere while in Riga, check out pub, it is usually most lively during the eves with live music.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexplzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

if you go to riga, try this place!
john is amazing and you'll have a great time having a glass of kiss (or balzam, or beer, or...) at the bar...
great helpful staff. oooohhh! and you definitely want to try the apple pie :-)

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank marMiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The Old Town Hostel reception is only a short walk from the train station. The reception is a cosy place with pub-character. There is a possibility to wash (unfortunately the machine was broken while we were staying there).

We stayed in a separate apartment with others (but private room), which was also a short walk from the Old Town Hostel but still right in the city center. The staff walked us there and was in all quite helpful and friendly. They apologized again and again for the washing machine not working =)

The apartment and the room itself was really nice, above the usual hostel standard. It was clean and very modern.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub

Property: Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub
Address: Valnu iela 43, Riga 1050, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riga's legendary backpackers hostel & pub. Unbeatable location in Old Town. Daily Tours. 24hr Reception.- FREE Wifi through the whole building- FREE guide map on arrival- FREE underbed security lockers with pad lock- FREE towel on your bed- FREE luggage storage after check outALL BEDS HAVE 2 POWER POINTS AND A LIGHT !!ALL ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING !!WARNING: You will meet people if you stay here... :) :) :) that's what traveling is all about, if your looking for quiet nights this hostel is NOT for you!FREE BREAKFAST BEER EACH DAY (8AM-11AM)- New Bunk Beds- New Linens, Towels and Pillows- Enchanting Spiral Staircase- AWESOME STAFF that LOVE their job- No Hangovers (Not Guaranteed)WE DON'T HAVE ANY KITCHEN/COOKING FACILITIES.You can eat cheaply in Riga so there is no need to cook, our staff will give you all the recommendations on where to eat.WE DO NOT ACCEPT STAG PARTIES OR SCHOOL GROUPS. MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE OF 10 PEOPLE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing