We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but all good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Wellton Gertude for 4 nights in Sept - location of hotel is a little out of the centre but only took us 20 minutes to walk into the old town so no real problem. Room was very compact but all newly redecorated and the bathroom was all new too. Very clean.
Breakfast was good - a wide variety of cooked and cold food with fruit and bread. Something for everyone.
Hotel is being refurbished at the moment so only half seems to be open while rest is being worked on. Noise didn't start till after 8:30 am so no problem there.
Staff all very helpful on reception.
Just one suggestion - coffee in room would have been nice - only tea is provided which is unusual.
Overall a good choice of hotel if you don't mind the walk into centre.
One piece of advice if you travel back to the airport by the Shuttle - order in plenty of time as ours was caught in heavy traffic and we only had a little time to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Our room on second floor was very small but newly redecorated and very clean. If you want more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanGenieXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standard. We would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our team members who provided you with excellent service.

Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of Wellton Group Hotels in the future.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 555 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend visit to Riga in July. The hotel is pleasant, I wouldn't say it's luxurious or anything, but is of a good quality for its price bracket. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, Vladamir always greeted us with a smile, and was happy to help with any queries (eg ordering us taxis, letting us know good places to go). The rooms were of average size and beds ok, the rooms appeared clean. The decor was nothing special, but again, I think it's about having the right expectations, so wouldn't mark the hotel down. Breakfast was a buffet, served in a large dining room, there was plenty on offer, both hot and cold, the only thing I didn't like was the 'lift' music being played in the background. The hotel is a little bit out from the centre of town, but is more than walkable. There is a small bar, downstairs by reception and the rooms had mini bars in (at reasonable prices). One minor point, which I'm hoping will be resolved is that I left an item behind, and made initial contact with the hotel, which they responded once, but they have not continued to follow up on my subsequent emails, I'd like to think the good service we received while staying would be extended. Overall, I think this hotel is a good place to stay if you're looking for good value for money, aren't expecting a five star hotel, but want good friendly service in a decent hotel. I would not have a problem recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeeterskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to learn how much enjoyed your stay at Wellton Gertrude Hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Custumer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to recieve such praise.

Once again thank you for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of Wellton Group Hotels.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is situated a bit away from the tourist attractions. It turned out to be a good thing since the walk to the old town was interesting with a lot of stores and shops which you probably wouldn't have found othervise.
Our room on the top floor was spacious and very clean with a nice view over the city. We had some issues with the AC, it wasn't cool enough. There was a big fan to help out.
The breakfast was ok (they did have sparkling wine though!) and the staff was very friendly.
The bus station was located just outside the front door.

Room Tip: We loved our room at the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review of your experience at Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

We are delighted to read that Wellton Gertrude Hotel has made a wonderful impression with you.Thank you for highlighting the hotel location and services. Gertrude Hotel is primary residential area and the hotel is within walking distance to the wonderful restaurants, bars and shops that near area has to offer.

Once again, we would like to thank You for sharing Your feedback. We look forward to welcoming You back at Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel part and service there was very good. The breakfast was terrible. It is a classic style hotel, but the popmusic radio was shouting in breakfast room, which was really annoying. There was constantly something missing: bread, jam, plates..., customers had to go to kitchen to ask. Used dishes were all around the tables. Bad coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Mailis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even for your comments you shared with Tripadvisor readers. Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services, and we will try to fix these problems as soon as possible, the information has been forwarded to the corresponding hotel departments. Like to inform that our guest thoughts are important for us, that's how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location is pretty good, within the walking distance from the city center.

Free wifi in the rooms. Rooms are clean.

The beds are very comfy. The bathroom was very nice, and it actually had a bath.

I had to leave before breakfast so I asked for a packed one, and in the morning hey handed me a paper bag with a sandwich, some juice, an apple.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Review

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. At Wellton Gertrude Hotel , we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations: therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back at Wellton Gertrude Hotel.

Best Regards

Matiss Cesnieks
Wellton Hotel Group
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although the location of hotel is not far from the center almost nobody did know where is the street where the hotel is situated. But I was pleased with my choise when I found myself on the bed in the large garret room. It is the best place which has reasonable relation between price and quality. Lovely staff, comfortable and clear rooms, rich breakfast. The absence of own restaurant didn't was noticeable because there was "lido" close to hotel. About Lido in other reviews )))

Room Tip: I stayed there two times. First time I stayed on last floor and second time on second floor. Rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miryagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Wellton Gertrude Hotel and more that taking to share your comments regarding our hotel at Tripadvisor
For us it is vital recieve your review and opinion about the hotel`s existing advantages and it`s disatvantages as well.. We are happy to hear that you are more than satisfied when stay with us.
We will be more to than happy to welcome back at Wellton Gertrude Hotel next time.

Best Regards
Matiss Cesnieks
Assistant Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent 6 nights at Wellton Gertrude with my girlfriend. Payed a little extra for a bigger room, but was a little disappointed with its content. The room itself was spacious, there was a twin bed, two chairs and a small table, an extra bed and a desk, plus we had a lot of excess floor that could have been used in a better way. Also the twin bed was very uncomfortable, the extra bed was much better to sleep in but as we were on a romantic holiday the smallest bed wasn't used. The AC didn't work properly and wasn't fixed during our stay. Also lost the water for almost 24 hours because of a unknown problem, when we got it back it was packed with rust so we had to flush the shower for about 5 minutes. The breakfast was ok, but often there were only white bread available. Staff was friendly. Hotel is going through some remodeling so hopefully it will be ship shape when they are finished. Have stayed at 4-star hotels in the past, and can't say I feel this was worthy its 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjetil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Gertrude Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear, Kjetil_R

Thank you for choosing our hotel and even more for your comments you shared with TripAdvisor readers.We are sad to hear that generally you were not satisfied with your stay whit us and we appreciate all the feedback we are receiving from our guests.We like to say sorry that AC was not fixed ,but like to share new information may also be interested to you that after renovating 3rd and 4rd floor we will exchange AC at all rooms.We like to inform that because renovating jobs at hotel they switched off water.
Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services, and we will try to corresponding hotel departments. Our guest thoughts are important for us , that`s how we may know where our services are in need of improvement.
Even if you would like to try other hotels in Riga, we truly hope that you will choose our hotel again and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon!

Best Regards
Assistant Marketing manager
Matiss Cesnieks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.4 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 111 in Riga
619 reviews
1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 111 in Riga
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monika Centrum Hotel
Monika Centrum Hotel
#10 of 111 in Riga
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#17 of 111 in Riga
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Gertrude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Gertrude Hotel

Address: Gertrudes iela 70, Riga 1009, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Gertrude Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Riga
#25 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#26 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $32 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Gertrude Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel is located within the central area of the Riga city in a nineteenth century Art Nouveau style building, which was restored recently. The Hotel offers 79 bright and spacious rooms with excellent soundproofing. All this make Rixwell Gertrude Hotel attractive for Riga guests and travelling families with children. Riga is an amazing city with European heritage and authentic charm. Its visitors are simply destined to fall in love with its parks, churches, canals and Art Nouveau buildings. Make sure that for your stay in Riga you choose a place that speaks the same language with the city and its people. Whether you are visiting Riga for business, leisure, social or family purpose, in Rixwell Gertrude Hotel we are commited to providing you with the highest quality of hotel services! We know that little things do matter when you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixwell Gertrude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fg Gertrude Riga City Centre Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing