We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi!”
Review of Sumo

Sumo
Ranked #363 of 983 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: $18 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: «Sumo» is the first most precious elitist Japanese restaurant in Riga. It was opened in the December 1999. Visitors of «Sumo» are dainty gourmets and also representatives from business circles. There it is possible to talk things over peacefully and leisurely. Design of «Sumo» excels with reserved elegance and a characteristic Eastern charm, homeliness and correctness. Important roles have the pendulant curtains that separate the tables from each other in the passages.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were 13 people who ate here in april 2013 and the food was fabulous. Great sushi! Absolutely recomended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Really the best Japanese cuisine in Baltic countries”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chose this restaurant due to Trip Adviser rankings and although I wanted to try some local food I could not find anything good enough. All the traditional Latvian restaurant I visited were looking like being closed - no clients, no smell of the food, no music, no atmosphere. I entered steak house e.g. and grill was not even fired - of course I was told that it is not problem for them but I did not took a risk. Finally being very hungry already I decided to take one traditional Latvian restaurant and it was a mistake. Being convinced that I can not find any good Latvian restaurant I decided to try Sumo.
And it was definitely very good choice. The food is really excellent although not cheap. Service is quite good and atmosphere is nice. Choice of the dishes is really impresive as regards different ideas for Japanese cuisine. If You are in Riga You have to try it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stick to the traditional menu”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The service is very accommodating however some of the dishes do not deliver. Eclectic menu built upon traditional Japanese fare, however the classics are consistent whilst the melange is hit & miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheToucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

service and food is brilliant! almoust made me feel like in japan!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best sushi in Riga”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The best japanese restaurant in riga, very good quality food, good atmosphere.

Small place intimate. few tables

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Sumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing