We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riga visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Riga visit”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We were transferred to this hotel from the sister hotel Gertrude on our first day. This is the one we should have stayed at, great hotel, food good, fantastic rooms but hotel is a little too far outside Riga for people that cannot walk. In saying that you can catch public transport, buses and tram not too far away. There is an outside drinking area when the weather is warm.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    218
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
96
175
57
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cesis, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very new hotel (by Riga standards). Close to Spice shopping Mall, and perfectly located for the airport. Not too close, not too far. A bit too far for a comfortable walk to the old town, but a 5-10 minute taxi ride. Would definately use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCapindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Latvia, we flew over a Beauty Trade show and stayed in the Elefant.
The hotel is wonderfully chic, warm, modern and comfortable, the hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. We arrived from the airport at 11pm and were delighted with the large, bright spotless rooms with ceiling to floor windows on two walls and white fluffy bathrobes.
We had seen when booking the hotel that they're restaurant stays open until 3am, we were shocked to find that they serve a full menu until 3am and not just a snack or room service menu like most hotels. We choose Beef Tongue for starters which was gorgeous and then fish and salads for mains and ice cream for desert, followed by a fabulous cocktail.
After a great nights sleep breakfast was buffet style and was constantly topped up and provided plenty of choice.
This hotel is a little outside the city but Taxis are so cheap that its worth it, I would highly recommend everything about this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
339 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is lower priced compared to other hotels in the area. They have a great free breakfast buffet open most of the morning, a free gym and restaurant/bar. There is also someone to give massages, (for a fee). The rooms are the size you would expect in America. They also have an arrangement with a taxi service to get you to and from the airport, (the same price as you can get if you just pick any taxi at the airport). Generally, this is a good hotel, though some of the staff members seem to have been trained in the Stalin School for Hotel Management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is new and clean and the personnel was very nice with us.
It is half the way from the airport to the centre of Riga, both of them easily reachable with taxis or even with public transports.
The only thing that was a bit annoying was the price of extras. 3lvl for a toothbrush (4.5eur) and 6lat for 2 espresso and 2 glasses of water. A bit overpriced considering prices aroun the hotel and that for 6lvl you can get a taxi ride to the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HierroITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pleasant Hotel in outskirts of Riga, You have to take a taxi to get to town centre.
But a nice friendly hotel, large comfortable rooms Staff are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is very clean and has a relaxing atmosphere.
Stayed for a few nights and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel only one night.
We stayed in a standard twinbed room for the price of EUR 42,00.
The breakfast was included in the price.

On our arrival we needed to park the car in the hotel garage. The additional cost for garage is 7 LVL what is about 10 EUR. In my opinion it is too much (1/4 of the price of staying).

The receptionist lady was very welcoming / charming and attentive, but maybe a little bit slow (but no complain about this).

Both inside and outside the hotel looks modern and nice as the building itself was built not long time abot (max 5-6 years).

We were given the room on the 4th floor: comfortable room with comfortable bed and all was clean. Of course some pieces of furniture were shabby, but still the looked good.

We have also a chance to visit the bar. The prices of the bar is very fair as well. One portion of whiskey cost 3 LVL / 4,27 EUR for 40 ml. And a small bottle of cola cost 1 LVL / 1.42 EUR. The barman was nice, but on the bill he added one extra cola. When I indicated on this mistake, the bill was changed. But I advise to be attentive. The additional minus the bar did not accept American Express card.

The location is good as well: you can reach the city centre in 10 min by car (if there is no traffic). It is very close to the airport as well.

I would definitely stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.6 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
2.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
2.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Elefant Hotel

Property: Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Address: Kalnciema iela 90, Riga 1046, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Elefant Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Riga
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rixwell Elefant Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Elefant Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel and it is conveniently located between Riga International Airport, which is a 5-minute drive away, and the Old Town. The rooms are bright and modern. All rooms come with a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities,a safety deposit box and ironing facilities, as well as a direct dial telephone. The private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Breakfast buffet is available in the mornings. Guests are welcomed to dine in the on-site restaurant "Elefant". A kids menu is also available. Rixwell Elefant Hotel offers guests access to a fitness centre free of charge and a wellness center, where guests can relax and take advantage of various treatments - all at an extra cost. Parking is possible on site at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing