We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a modern hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a modern hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week during our trip to Riga. The hotel is very modern and artsy. The elephant is quite unique.

The service was friendly and our rooms were clean. The best part about our stay was the buffet breakfast which was included in our booking price. The selection was wonderful and included a good variety. The only downside is that its paid parking at 5 Ls/day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rines10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    218
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
96
175
57
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I was on business trip to Riga and quite accidentally took this hotel.
Because I was with my car I had no problems at all with public transport or the place of hotel, which is a bit far from centre and not in very pretty neighbourhood.
Anyway I like this hotel, I've been there now 3 times.
Rooms are always clean, staff is friendly, breakfast in really great. Even hotel restaurant is really good, despite high prices.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingborough northants
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now, during working trips to Latvia. It is definitely the best hotel i have stayed at in Latvia, the other two being dark dingy places. This hotel reminds me of modern Dutch style hotels.
The location is very convenient for the airport. I hired a car at the airport and followed the road signs for the centre. The hotel is only ten minuets drive from the airport, although the hotel is on the opposite side of the road when you get there and you have to make a tricky U turn on the carriage way or carry on to the next junction and turn around. There is a petrol station next door to the hotel, which is handy when returning the car.
The hotel is a nice modern clean design with under ground parking available at an extra 7 Euro a night, although i parked on the street with no problems.
My twin room was 50 Euro a night, which didn't seem bad value as this included breakfast and free easy access wifi internet connection in the room.
The room it self was roomy, clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom with good power shower and air-conditioning in the room.
The room also had a nice flat screen television with a variety of channels, including CCN and BBC world, there were also pay for view options.
The mini bar items did seem a little expensive, but this is pretty normal I suppose.
The breakfast in the morning was a buffet affair, with a wide variety of food including salads, veg, fish, fruit and bacon and eggs, to suit any diet. it was all very well presented, and there was a bright and friendly greeting from the staff.
There was a pleasant open plan bar, where you could get drinks and bar food very late if wanted, it also served the restaurant full menu in this area if required.The restaurant menu might seem a little fussy for some, but actually the food was excellent and well worth a try, especially the Chile glazed salmon and wild rice, which was perfect.
The hotel staff on the whole were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexion46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

The Elephant is a modern hotel about half way between the airport and the city center. It overlooks a main road and I found it quite noisy at night.
Riga is a beutiful, small, but a bit run down city. From the Elephant you can take a bus (22 or 53) to the historical center, it's about a 10 min drive. Bus tickets can be bought at the driver 0.7 lats or at a news kiosk for 0.5 lats. The historical center is pretty small and can be walked across in about 30 min if you don't stop at any of the museum. I ate lunch at the Lido altus in the city center, good food for a good price, buffet style. I was a bit surprised how expensive things are there. Souvenirs to buy: amber, Laima chocolates and Black Balzam 45% proof herbal liquer. If you want to buy Balzam at the airport don't buy it at the first shop you see, prices vary and you can save a lot if you look around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alismile73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

The Elefant Hotel is a very reasonably priced hotel near the airport. Very clean, very good service. The only negative - it's not near Riga's Old Town. I highly recommend the hotel to travelers looking to stay near the airport, or to traveler's with transportation/willing to use public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppdal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Very nice, quiet and comfertable hotel with nice staff. We did not find the distance to the old town as a problem. Good and cheap conection by train, buses and taxi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kremly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

It was quite a good business hotel, clean and comfort, focused on minimal design. It''s located not far from the airport, but far away from the picturesque Old Town of Riga. If i ever return to Latvia, i am not sure if i will prefer it again. Buses and taxis stuck in traffic are not what i dream of Riga...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothea_An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
2.6 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
2.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
2.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Elefant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Elefant Hotel

Property: Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Address: Kalnciema iela 90, Riga 1046, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Elefant Hotel)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Riga
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#21 Business Hotel in Riga
#27 Family Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rixwell Elefant Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rixwell Elefant Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel and it is conveniently located between Riga International Airport, which is a 5-minute drive away, and the Old Town. The rooms are bright and modern. All rooms come with a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities,a safety deposit box and ironing facilities, as well as a direct dial telephone. The private bathrooms also come with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Breakfast buffet is available in the mornings. Guests are welcomed to dine in the on-site restaurant "Elefant". A kids menu is also available. Rixwell Elefant Hotel offers guests access to a fitness centre free of charge and a wellness center, where guests can relax and take advantage of various treatments - all at an extra cost. Parking is possible on site at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Elefant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefant Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing