We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was spacoius and the bathroom recently renovated. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Just 15 mins walk to the old town or a 5 minute bus ride.. Not on the fashionable side of town but conveniently located anyway. Very fast interet access (20Mbs up and down). Plentiful and varied breakfast though the cereal choice could use some improvement. Overall a very comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    82
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
93
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I cannot remember the time when I have stayed in such a super little hotel for such a price! The people, all the people that work there were helpful and always smiling.

If you are looking for a quiet, small hotel, close to the Old City which does not cost a fortune, then this is it. I thoroughly recommend the Riverside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moscowjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, CT USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This hotel is located on a tiny street named for the former Chief Rabbi of Riga and is located in a bit shabby but conveniently located,short walk from the center of town. Despite appearances, it is safe even at night. The area is the old Jewish quarter of town and a 2 minute walk away is a large Jewish School.
If you are looking for a large full service hotel, look elsewhere but if you want quiet, clean and modern hotel(the building is just a few years old) with spacious rooms (with quality fixtures and construction), bathrooms and friendly, responsive, 24 hour service at a bargain price, this is the hotel for you. We were extremely happy with the hotel.

There is a basic buffet breakfast served n a clean quiet dining room that compares favorably with the cost of a basic breakfast in the center of town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frespkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I walked from a conference near the old town to the hotel. The area is a bit dingy but ok. The hotel has no sign on it. There is a sign from the road but none on the hotel. Hence it took a few minutes to find.

The room was nice and clean. They have room service but the food that arrived was cold. Breakfast was basic and I would recommend eating elsewhere.

On reflection if you were coming here for a break you would be disappointed. To save money before going somewhere or heading to a conference, it does the trick.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryndlewindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and me just arrived from Riga, where we stayed in "Riverside Hotel".
First of all, a few words about service: from the very first enquiry e-mail untill the last day all hotel staff was very helpful: they gave necessary info about the location, conditions (which are all true), staying details and some tips about currency (where it is better to exchange it, how much does taxi transfer cost (from airport to the hotel appr.10LVL; from hotel to the city centre 4-5LVL; be careful, taxi drivers can cheat). At the reception they all speak three languages: latvian, english and russian. They give the map of Riga, point places you are interested/would be interested in and give all the info about public transport. Bus cost 0.7LVL. Mini-bus - 2LVL. Waiting time for taxi is 3-5minutes.
Our room was very tidy, good smell, quite (there is a parking behind the hotel), good lighting, TV, safe, good cotton bedclothes. Bathroom is very clean as well; there is shower cabin. Room service is very good. Breakfast: from Monday to Friday untill 10a.m.; Saturday and Sunday untill 11a.m. Very good hot buffet: fried eggs, sausages, pancakes, 3-4 kinds of jams, salads, fresh vegies and fruits, pie, 2 kinds of bread, cheese,cereals, juice, coffee and tea.
The hotel is just 4 blocks from the city centre, which takes about 15min of walk, or 1-2 bus stops.
I certainly recommend this Hotel: it is a very good cheap alternative not far from city centre with friendly and warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bisanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The room was quite basic and clean. We didn't have any trouble in sleeping (no noise). The bathroom was wonderfully spacious. At first we didn't realise that there was an air conditioner which was efficient in the summer heat. A big bonus was that Wlan worked perfectly at the hotel. The staff was really good in giving advices on sights and what bus goes where. The hotel isn't in the town center but the busses are cheap and we didn't have any problems with touring the town from the hotel. We didn't take the hotels breakfast. There's a small bakery (or actually a small shop that sells a bit of everything) near the hotel at the different direction than town center. The airport transport back to the airport was efficient and good. The price didn't differ much from what we paid when we came by taxi from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you don't do steps well ask for a room from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I've just spent about a week of holiday in Riga with a friend and stayed at this hotel. My overall rating is excellent and I wouldn't hesitate a minute to choose this hotel again if I went back to this city one day (hope so, the city has so much to offer, but this is another story).
Pros:
- In the very first place, the staff. Receptionists were always professional but very welcoming, genuine, striving to help not only with hotel-related inquiries but also general city-related inquiries, day and night. Fantastic! Another planet from some robotic desk staff you often find at various major hotel chains. The room was very carefully cleaned every day, and left spotless.
- Room: spacious, simply furnished but rather cosy, air con, flat screen TV (which, to be honest, I've never turned on, a great deal going on in that city! so not sure what channels you get), safe, ample bathroom with shower
- Value: incredibly cheap, in UK where I live you get a bed in a hostel for that price.
- Free wi-fi internet, good speed
- Breakfast: continental+cooked, not super-duper but more than decent.

Cons:
- This is controversial: location. As other reviewers stated, it's about 15 min walk from the central train station and old town. We nearly always walked it, also at night, with no problem whatsoever. True, we were 2 blokes, and summer nights are very short, but most of the walk is on a very wide road, felt safe to me. At the same time though, it's true that that is considered a dodgy part of the city by the locals we talked to. You can always take a taxi, it's about 6 pound form the city centre.
- A detail, the courtains are rather thin, sleeping can be a bit of an issue in sunny summer days
- Lift, or lack of. Not a problem for us, as we were on the 1st floor, guess it could be for elderly people.

All in all, a very pleasant experience, it felt like home right away. Recommended.

Room Tip: First floor, as no lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwelveForty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#48 of 109 in Riga
448 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Primo Hotel
Primo Hotel
#46 of 109 in Riga
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#77 of 109 in Riga
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Natana Barkana iela 5, Riga 1003, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is located in a quiet and calm district in the center of Riga. It takes just 15 minutes by bus to get to the airport, just 5 minutes to get to the central train station and 7 minutes to the passenger harbor. Our friendly hotel's staff will make your stay comfortable and pleasant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing