We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend visit”
Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opera Hotel & Spa
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Very nice hotel with very helpfull staff, relaxing masage and spa

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank Plys99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 843 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

Very good hotel on a perfect location in the center of Riga. Room are new and confortable. Service of staf is professional. Furthermore to mention is the good breakfast and SPA facilities.

O.Klink, Amsterdam

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Myself and partner enjoyed a short break at the Nordic Bellevue last week. We found the hotel very easy to locate 75p on the bus from the airport! Our room was a small double but was very clean with everything working perfectly. The rooms are very modern in design and easy to relax in. The location of the hotel is very good with a department store across the road along with the main train station and shopping complex. The old town is a 2 minute walk away and the hotel is very handy for all the sights. Breakfast was very tasty catering for fish lovers i'd recommend the smoked salmon or your usual eggs and bacon, cereal, croissants. Overall for a first time stay in Riga i would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nando_torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Weekend stay with a friend in this hotel was perfect. The location is marvellous for shopping (Stockman department store, Central Market, Origo shopping centre and the Old Town - everything can be reached in minutes).

Our room was spacious and it had a marvellous whirlpool tub. The staff was very friendly, in the evening we fetched a pot of hot water and tea to enjoy it in our room.

Some reviewers have complained about the breakfast. We had no problem, there was plenty of everything and the fresh fruit salad was fantastic.

We had to treatments in the Babor spa. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the light colors and tranquil setting.

Our room was very quiet, facing the inner court. I don't know it the heavy traffic disturbs the rooms facing the street. We had requested for a quiet room and were very happy with our choice.

I can't find any fault in this hotel. This is a four star hotel at its best.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on a city trip to Riga. The hotel is located right between the old town and the new town, 5 mins walk to both, and right opposite the railway station. The building is well maintained and modern from both the outside and the inside.

The rooms on the 5th (and top) floor have a tilted ceiling, which may not seem very attractice at first sight because it seems to reduce the volume and the available surface of the room, but which we soon came to appreciate as adding a lot of atmosphere compared to the normal cubic rooms on the lower floors. The lighting was also nicely adjusted to the lay-out of the room.

Bathrooms are modern, with shower pressure that is just about accetable. As other reviewers have remarked, the hotel has a problem with the airconditioning, which may cause problems especially in the lower floor rooms which are closer to the busy streets. On the 5th floor you will hardly hear the traffic even with the windows open.

The one and only real fault of this hotel was the breakfast buffet, which staff stop to restock long before the breakfast hour is over. This does not only concern "luxury" items like croissants but also basic stuff like orange juice, cereals, and cheese. On the second morning even the butter had finished, and staff refused to refill it! Maybe this is intended as a gentle reminder of Soviet times?

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

My husband and I went to Riga for 5 days in July, 2008. Our
hotel choice was made from what we had read and seen on the internet . It had been recently renovated. The young staff at check-in were more than friendly and efficient. But as one other reviewer has stated the air-conditioning was not working at its best. We opened the windows and did not hear any traffic noise or smell any fumes at all. Asked the reception about the air-conditioning, (which was working in both the foyer and in the restaurant), and he replied that they had some problems in certain areas of the hotel and that they had the air-conditioner installation team back to try and fix it. He immediately went off and came back with a medium sized electric fan, which we used when we were in the room.
The breakfast buffet was more than enough and the dinner menu was both innovative and the food beautifully presented, both on the plate and by the staff.
We got the local bus in from the airport, which deposited us about 4 blocks from the hotel. We only had hand luggage, so there was no problems walking that far.
As for walking through the tunnel near the train station. We went up to Cesis for the day on the train, so, of course, we had to go to the train station. I did see one old man, obviously passed out from too much wine, but not beggars or other people harassing us. I think we saw more weirdos at the Central markets near to the bus station, than at the train station. You can get to the old part of town without going through the tunnel. I think the hotel is ideally situated near the station, taxi rank and either trams or trolleybus services.
Cheers.
Lois McDonald.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Well, where should I start? Maybe at the nicely done web-page and the beautiful description there... we all know that this never 100% fits but this time it doesn't fit big time: the rooms are smaller than appear on the website. Staff tried to be friendly, but is very inexperienced. For example, they hardly understood English and couldn't tell the directions.
The rooms are clean but overall look very girly and could be also belong to a 12-year old girl in terms of style - not exactly what you want to have when you are up to for a decent hotel! Bathrooms are clean but again for this money I expect a bit more quality.
Location is central, but if you want to get to the old town you have to go through the walking tunnel, which is dirty and has some questionable crowd soliciting there. Yeah, if you come with the car it is nearly impossible to park there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank uncle_ray11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Daugava Hotel, Riga
0.2 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 111 in Riga
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Address: Raina bulvaris 33, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Riga
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#15 Family Hotel in Riga
#27 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $49 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Riga
Opera Hotel And Spa
Nordic Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing