We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera Hotel & Spa
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable week!
It is close to all transport. Trains ,trams and buses and a short walk to Old Riga.
The staff were very friendly , helpful and seemed to know all languages.
Breakfasts were good, there was complimentary Wi Fi.The room nice and spacious.
One drawback was that there was no air conditioning and if the windows were opened there was some traffic noise.
As I like somewhat longer showers and as there was no shower curtain or screen, water was splashed all around the bathroom floor !
I would stay again and give it 5 stars if it had airconditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    312
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
115
244
51
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potenza, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Opera Hotel & SPA, thanks! The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was clean and elegant (I took a superior, the 102) and the complimentary 1.5 hours of SPA was exactly what we needed after a walk in Riga! I appreciated the little attentions, like the bathrobe and slippers available in the room, the customised homepage of the TV, showing our names, the warm wooden floor, the silence and the soft colours of the furniture.
I had an early flight, so I could not appreciate the breakfast. But I will try to come back! The position of the hotel, by the way, was perfect: in the city centre and also very close to the central station, the autostation and the bus stop to the airport!
Something which I did not fully like: from the room description I was expecting a Jacuzzi in the bathroom, but there was only a shower; the SPA could benefit some minor renovation of the swimming pool and of the steam bath (I would put new tiles, more water jets and i would add some fragrances). This is the reason of the 4/5 mark instead of a 5/5, for the rest quite deserved.

Room Tip: I would choose superior rooms for the good quality/price ratio, but I think that if you are just sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianvito_Scaringi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very well located, has all necessary facilities in the hotel, nice complimentary wi -fi, we stayed there for 8 nights in July 2013,
I didn`t like the shower room as it had no curtain or separate door and all water was sprinkling all over the bathroom.
Next to the mirror there is a mop to clean the water after the shower)))
Also a strange thing happened with their water anf filter system and while you are taking the shower into your head are falling some small transparent balls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel was great and the best part of it was the location. It was at walkable distance to old town and different places. We went around Riga just by walking. There is a very nice park near the hotel. However, we took a standard room which did not have air conditioner and it was very hot. And when we opened the window for some fresh air, it was very very very noisy. If you are staying here remember to take a room with air conditioner. Also, spa facilities was not included in our standard room. Over all nice hotel and very good breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with air conditioner! Breakfast was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Due to the fact, that hotel was overbooked, we get room specialised for handicapedd people. Which means, that about the bathroom I can not say anything. Room itself was ok, but thanks to the fact, that window was against the main street, thére was quite noisy since morning. Service was ok for latvian standards, which basically means below usual good european level. Dont expect much and there are more better hotels in Riga.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Even though it's not in the old town, the location is close to perfect. Opposite to the central railway station and Origo shopping mall. Old town is very well within walking distance even for the kindergarten age travellers.

A superior room was modern, clean and could easily fit in two extra beds.

I'm not an expert on spas, but I found this one disappointing and would recommend ignoring it altogether.

Breakfast was ok, but I think you could expect better on a four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hevoonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Locaction was good as it is near the train and bus stations as well as a big shopping mall, with reasonable distance to the old town. Breakfast was good. Room was pleasant and of good size. A wooden pillar stood at the middle of the bed end making some inconvenience. The most disgusting experience was a bad smell from the bathroom when we opened the door. It might be probably due to the sewage problem. We opened the window wide to air the room. We also made complaint to the staff and requested room change. They said the standard rooms were fully booked (I guessed it was a standard answer). We went out for sightseeing and they promised to do some treatment. When we were back after hours, they said disinfectant was put to the drains. The air condition was turned on to ventilate the smell. But one could still find faint unpleasant smell wherever entering the bathroom. Shower area was open and water splashed out very easily to make the floor wet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#39 of 109 in Riga
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel & Spa

Property: Opera Hotel & Spa
Address: Raina bulvaris 33, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Hotel Bellevue & SPA)
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Riga
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#24 Family Hotel in Riga
#29 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel And Spa
Opera Hotel Riga
Nordic Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing