We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good low-cost hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good low-cost hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

Pros:
- very nice staff
- tidy rooms
- nearby tram station and 10 minutes to the Old City and LIDO recreation center
- 10 minutes by feet to the Mols shopping center
- free parking and wi-fi

Cons:
- bad sound proofing in the rooms, so if you are unlucky to have noisy neighbors who also like to return to their rooms at 1 AM then get ready to wake up in the night
- no fridge in the room
- if you have a room on the 1-st floor you'll have to shut drapes at night, otherwise your room and bed can be seen from street and other windows.

Half-Cons:
- small rooms, but if you only want to spend nights in the room then its really not an issue
- no restaurant in the hotel, but a few cafes nearby, though I strongly recommend go the Mols shopping center and visit Thali restaurant there; in case of emergency there is food dispenser near the reception

Summarizing all pros and cons I would say that this is very nice hotel for its price if you plan only to sleep in your room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    198
    65
    29
    9
See reviews for
63
164
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Yes, you have to take a cab or a tram from the old town, but it's really not that far and the pay-off is that you stay in a new hotel, with modern facilities, at a reasonable price. Really down to personal preference as to which location/type of hotel one wants to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlinkyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

good value for money, excellent location and connection to the city transport (just 4 tram stops from center, bus, train stations).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

We come to the hotel at 1 pm, check in was at 3 pm, on our day of arrival in Riga it was very cold. The staff told us, that we can check in and warm up in our room. That was strong.
Very good internet and very good breakfast. The timetable for the tram is at the reception, so you must not got to the tram-stop and watch for the next tram and the reception is 24 h a day open. Bathroom was very clean.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoahVosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

The staff at this hotel are all extremely helpful- front desk-staff even offered to lend me money for the tram, as I did not have local currency. Rooms are clean and fresh and their prices are unbeatable! Stay in htls around 50-60 times a year, mostely 4-5 stars when on business, but would happily swap them for this little GEM of a hotel. Personalized service and friendliness brought up to a whole new level!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALBAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

The hotel is simple - neat and clean. Nothing fancy. It is a bus ride away. They have free wireless internet in the complete hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#35 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.0 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#55 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#56 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing