We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for touring Latvia”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Bollington Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal base for touring Latvia”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Dodo Hotel as we planned to rent a car for some our stay in Latvia. The hotel staff are most helpful and provided a disabled room on the ground floor for my elderly mother. Note: the hotel does not have any lifts - so if you have difficulty with stairs, request a room on the ground floor.
The rooms were quiet - although sadly a group of lads on a stag night trip did cause a lot of noise as they got ready to go out for the night. (I have no idea when/if they actually got back).
The breakfast was good value and we loved the automated pancake machine. There were not many restaurants very close by but we did find a place to eat in the nearby shopping centre. We caught taxis to the centre of Riga and had a full day there. (The hotel have special rates with the Taxis parked outside. ) After that we had hire cars and were pleased to be able to park in secure parking just across the street. We were able to see much of the countryside.

Room Tip: Curtains can let light through so bring shades if you want a totally dark room. Also request lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    202
    65
    30
    9
See reviews for
66
165
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

it looks fine on the pictures, but having just stayed in an Ibis in Warsaw where I slept like a baby for less than here, this was a nightmare : the only modern building in the area and the tourist information confirming my impression, advising to avoid the district at all cost ... it also proved absolutely terrible for the entire night : people smoked near the entrance, their conversations preventing me from opening the window and even then waking me up every time ... and whenever someone moved on the upper floor, walked along the corridors or spoke in adjacent rooms I would be awoken ... and listen to their conversations.

Room Tip: top floor, far away from entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 531ddm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

You don't expect the budget hotel to look so good and clean. Rooms and bathrooms are very well designed, both aesthetic and functional. Near by hotel is the tram station that takes you to the centre, but each time we actually walked to the city and got acquainted with the other side of Riga where you usually don't see the tourist wandering around. :)
Although the breakfast (not included in the price of room) offers varieties of food, it is sadly very low quality food. In my opinion would be better to have less quantity, but increase the quality.
We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Dodo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice hotel with an IBIS like flavor. Very very reasonable room rates on last minute.com ... in fact our dinner last night in the old city was more expensive (EUR 50ish) than 2 nights here. Friendly staff, clean rooms, red walls & doors (which I like) and a nice breakfast. If you do not mind a tram ride to the old city this is a nice place to be

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sandip_mallik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spend 2 night in Dodo and we liked it very much. Rooms were very clean,tidy and quiet.The staff was helpful and friendly. Easy acces to the downtown with taxi or tram.
Very nice budget hotel; one of the best we have been in. I can recomend this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 400sari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've checked in at DoDo hotel in Riga, after an exhausting drive from Moscow. Hotel is not very easy to find if it's your first time in Riga, but after a while you're getting used to it.
There is a payable parking lot close to the hotel, but you can leave the car for free near the hotel at your own risk. Location of the hotel is convenient, close to the tram stop which means quick and easy transportation to center of the city.
Staff is friendly, rooms are small but cozy considering the price. Everything is definitely on a cheap side, but you don't feel yourself like your in backpackers hostel. Bathroom is tiny as well, but very clean.
WiFi is free and has a decent speed, plus they let you call home for free for 5 minutes via phone at the lobby.
Breakfast buffet was very good instead, simple but all organic local products, like super fresh dairy products, homemade cottage cheese, cereals and muesli. Very tasty!
For a budget stay in Riga just in the middle between posh and expensive 5 stars and super cheap hostels - this hotel is a nice alternative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshmyglya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#41 of 109 in Riga
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#57 of 109 in Riga
223 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing