We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a strange neighbourhood”
Review of Dodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dodo Hotel
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Vilnius
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a strange neighbourhood”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Plus:
Helpful staff, good value, tourist information booklets and maps, satisfying breakfast, free internet.
Minus:
Have not a lift, not welcome neighbourhood.

Room Tip: If you want to have a quiet sleep, I would recommend a room with window to the yard. Otherwise the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    202
    65
    30
    9
See reviews for
66
165
48
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I decided to stay at Dodo Hotel as I arrived into Riga late evening, and needed to stays in a hotel before continuing my onward journey. The hotel was under £30 per night, and proved to be excellent value for money - they could have charged at least £45 per night. The hotel is in a very quiet district of Riga, very close to the Old City. The rooms are ideal for short stays. The hotel is modern, very clean and tidy and the staff are vey professional, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at the hotel again when I travel to Riga.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any rooms that are necessarily quieter, as the hotel is in a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Supastar147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Better than you can expect from the price.
Distance from the old town wont bother because the tram 3, 7 or 9 goes right from the front of the hotel to the city center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madmaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Amazing find in the capital of Latvia. Hotel Dodo is situated in the former gettho of Riga. The surrounding dwellings are a jumble of delapidated houses and newly rennovated once. The whole atmosphere is one of history and authenticity.
Be it that the hotel is not smack in the middle of the old town, we regularly walked from the hotel to the Central Market. And don't forget to visit the immense Russian graveyard near Dodo. All said, this is very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A simple hotel located 20 min from old Riga, rather cheap.
The view from a window shows some real Riga with its poor people searching smth in garbage bins.
Wouldn't call it very clean since I saw a chewing gum that got stuck on a lamp (but maybe it was just one lamp in one room).
Rooms are small.
Can be ok for a night or so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zitella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed as a stag party as the hotel put up with us just fine. Sadly we only sampled the breakfast 1 day as we came in too late the other nights! The hotel itself is really clean and tidy. Staff were good too. Regarding the location I would agree with others that it's not the nicest area of Riga but having said that the team stop is round the corner and was 70cents to the centre of town so not too bad. Get the Red Taxis back from town and it's only 2lats between you. Overall it's a great setup for the money and I know where to stay if I am ever in Riga again. Thanks :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is great value. Ok so its not in the nicest area of Riga but hey its only a 20min walk to old town or you can hop on the tram so its hardly a problem.
the rooms are very clean and a nice size.
Staff were ok, friendly enough but never seemed to put themselves out.
Only complaint that we had is that three days straight the chambermaid just came into our room without knocking, alittle annoying as i prefer not to be naked when i first met people!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrShaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#41 of 109 in Riga
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#57 of 109 in Riga
224 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#34 of 109 in Riga
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dodo Hotel

Property: Dodo Hotel
Address: Jersikas iela 1, Riga 1003, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Riga
#26 Romantic Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dodo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dodo Hotel is the first low cost hotel concept in Riga, built in 2008, which offers small and cosy rooms at a significantly lower rate. Convenient location to Old Riga (Dodo Hotel was awarded "closest budget hotel to Old Riga" by the famous Latvian magazine "Vakara Zinas" in May 2009). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dodo Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing