We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, but something deffinately missing...”
Review of Hotel Jurmala Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jurmala Spa
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“New hotel, but something deffinately missing...”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel has great location and it is quite new. Economy rooms quality is average to 2+ star hotel standard. Deluxe rooms with balcony are much nicer and bigger. Only thing is poor in both room types, is shower room. Small, dark, with sticky plastic rope and absolutely low quality shower equippment. Also there is wifi available only in lobby. In the rooms no internet, even with cable. Pool and sauna complex is usable, but looks also a bit dark and tired!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with balcony are the best in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    206
    82
    32
    22
See reviews for
155
158
30
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The reason why we go there every winter - the SPA. While you sitting in the pool by the the bar in your bikini after nice sauna you can see the snowflakes through the window. Like you are getting a piece of summer on a cold winter night

Rooms are nice and well kept. Hotel is in the center - one step away from the main street

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cello-jello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Jurmala Spa in june. The rooms were spacious (23 kvm), wooden floor. Not flat screen TV, but "old" TV. small bathroom. Good A/C. Nice breakfast, and you could eat out on the terasse. Annoying birds tried to catch your breakfast. Free internet in the reception area. The hotel had a fitness center, which held about 30 degrees celcius, but a large range of equipment. About 5 minutes walk to the beach. I was not thrilled about the service level at the reception. Possibilities for SPA treatment and sauna/jacuzzi. Bar at the first floor, with a nice bartender who was proud of the national drink "riga balsam", he made us a mojito riga balsam.. who tasted great! In the 11. floor there is another bar with disco lightening and view over jurmala. The bartender mixed us a wrong drink, but hey.. that happens... ?!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gryand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Me and my friend spent 4 days at this hotel. We had over 12 hours of spa-treatments from a very kind and service minded crew. I really hope I can come back one day, this was perfect.
The room was nice and clean with good beds. The food was very good. Every treatment was on time, the only thing I maybe would like different was the pool, I had hoped for a bit less kids and more for adults only.

Room Tip: No noise anywhere I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

When we got into the hotel it seemed nice. The staff was a bit busy, but they were okay. The rooms looked nice, but the air quality was really terrible. I almost couldn't sleep and woke up coughing several times. The shower didn't drain and the bathroom smelled really bad when we came.

They had free Wi-Fi but this was very slow and sometimes you couldn't even get connected.

We tried the restaurant on the first floor - don't do it!!! The service wasn't very good and the food wasn't good either. The food in the bar at the top floor was okay and the bartender made good drinks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FKLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

The first impression is, that there is penalty for almost everything. If you leave your car near the hotel, it will brought away. Bringing towel from room to bath - penalty. At last I was looking, is nt there some penalty or special fee for using the toilet or the paperbasket.
Staff is very arrogant and unfriendly. Do not hope, that somebody will smile for you. They talk only about permissions.
Room was very dirt, stains on the table, bathroom, bed covers. Walls are probaly from paper, because every sound from neighbours rooms are heard. It was really dificult to sleep. And if you cannot sleep and want to smoke, you will meet new surprises.
For the smoker this hotel is a nightmare. It is smoke-free hotel and the only place to smoke is outside - especially nice, if there is +10 degrees of cold. Also, the doors of the hotel are locked in nights, so you cannot go outside. I felt myself like at hospital. But in the very dirt hospital.
So-named WIFI has sometimes been available and sometimes not. And if it was, it was quit slow.
Food is average, you get eated, but not any pleasure from food.
Spa is small and quit dirty.
Health procedures prices are taken from heaven probably and nobody wanted to try them. They are two or three times more expensive than in Estonia for example.
The Seaside bar on the 11th floor was the only place, where we met normal and smiling service. Choice of the beverages has been very good, but as the room itself has been very cold, it was not possible to spend time there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I spent there 2 nights to take some time off. Had a more luxurious room on the top floor. It was spacious (even for a family with a toddler), had great view and a large balcony (believe I would have spent the entire stay there if it had been summer).

The interior of the entire hotel is very modern, stylish. Found it very nice. But please note that the hotel has been open for a while, so do not expect the other million guests have walked in the air and haven’t touched anything. There are marks of aging, scratches on both furniture and walls.

Staff - can’t say they didn’t smile. Some was a bit more polite and helpful than other, but I got answers and help to every question I had. Also, everyone spoke English at least on a level needed.

About the spa. Besides pools and typical saunas, there were several things that are not so common in every spa and made it a bit special – salt sauna, (aromatic) steam temple, sanarium, ice machine next to the 110C Finnish sauna making it an enjoyable experience etc. But please be reminded it is a popular hotel and do not be surprised or dissappointed if you’re not the only one in the spa. Visited it in two evenings - in the first, there were only a few people, in the second, at least 50, but it didn’t bother me, it’s big enough. I also booked several treatments – a massage, body peeling, face cleaning, pedicure etc. The price level is rather high, however quite the same as other spa hotels in the area. Was more pleased with the beauty center treatments.

Breakfast - plenty of joyce, believe everyone finds something, a good surprise for me was (freshly squeezed) grapefruit juice.

Food – had dinner in the Seaside bar on the top of the hotel as well in the restaurant. The food was tasty, price level as in most other hotel restaurants in Riga.

Cleanliness - seems to be their weakest point and an aging property makes it even a bit worse. There are stains on the carpets, found some hair from the bathroom floor and in the spa there was a lot of it, you don’t want to be there on bare feet.

In conclusion I found the hotel being a great value for money – do not forget their room rates include breakfast and entrance fee to pools and saunas.

Recommended, but do not forget you flip-flops:)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosivaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
0.2 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
2.3 mi away
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
#1 of 23 in Jurmala
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Concordia
Concordia
#9 of 23 in Jurmala
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jurmala Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jurmala Spa

Property: Hotel Jurmala Spa
Address: Jomas ilea 47/49, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jurmala
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jurmala Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jurmala Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jurmala Jurmala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing