We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Eiropa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eiropa Hotel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Jurmala
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The facade of Eiropa looked like an old charming villa but the rooms are located in a separate block building behind. In our room (nro. 13) there was a horrible smell in the bathroom, the internet did not work, and after a bath the carpet in front of the bathroom was soaking wet! We had booked a budget double but I don't think the 65€ per night we paid was equal to the standard of the room. Breakfast was decent and location was excellent but there are many other hotels in Jürmala that are probably better value for money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tainak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
25
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The staff at the hotel is friendly, and the hotel very functional. The rooms are clean, a few stains on the carpet but not bad. The rooms are basic but have all the necessities. The pictures on the website show the original wood structure. Most rooms are in an addition in the back. "Garden View" is an overstatement. Its a grass yard with pine trees. There is no fitness center as advertised nor a spa. Also the picture on the web makes it look like its on the beach. Its actually on the other side of the street of the hotels that front the beach. When we were there it was off season and during the week there were not many other guests so the breakfast selection on the buffet was limited. I noticed when more guests checked in the breakfast got better. The staff were helpful, and it is situated near the best part of the town and beach. In short ,if you're looking for a basic room to stay while you enjoy the sites, this is a good value, but don't expect a luxury. Watch out for the police trap while entering Jurmala-you have to pull over off the road and buy a ticket for the dash of your car from a machine before entering each time or the police pull you over and ticket you (its all very well set up to extort money from the tourists)

Room Tip: No elevator in the new addition (3 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTourist90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Don't go there! You have enough hotels is Jurmala!
It is is con for tourists! The normal price was 35€ but we have to pay 10€ more because we booked with Hotel booking! Sauna and Jacuzzi were about 20€ for one hour!! Which was nowhere specified!! No fitness room ("because in renovation") and no spa ("they just have it in summer time") which was also nowhere specified! And the rooms need seriously renovation!
Breakfast was the only thing that was ok!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jurmala hotels

Luxembourg, Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed here for one night in the summer. We had a room in the not so charming newer part of the hotel. The room was small, nothing special, but clean and had everything we needed. If you want to spend time in the room it's not that great, but for a place to sleep, it's OK, however the value at 70 Lats/night isn't very good. The breakfast was good, lots of choice at the buffet, for every taste and quite good quality. We can't say the personnel were friendly, let's say professional... The hotel has a big garden which could be an advantage if it were kept better. We could not imagine would want an enormous plastic palm in the middle of the garden of a potentially charming hotel. To sum it up, the front of the hotel looks great, the backside not so much... We could stay here again but would rather look for someplace else the enjoy lovely town of Jurmala better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatzbdl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Cleanliness is not good and not so bad.
Breakfast wasn't in my taste at all.
wi-fi was not available as it was annonced in the official web site.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank benemich75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, LINCOLNSHIRE
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed for one week in one of the suites, the room was perfectly clean and very comfortable. The staff were excellent and no request was too much trouble. The Buffet breakfast every morning was very pleasant, and other meals at the hotel were superb. We were on business during the trip, but will probably return for pleasure at some future date. Our collegues stayed in the smaller rooms and tthey were also pleased with the arrangements. A special thanks to Olga and her assistants who worked very hard to make our stay most enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble for them, and a further thanks to the resaurant and cleaning staff who also worked very hard to makr our stay a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluelindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks - a little family of three, in one of the budget rooms.

The price for the room was ok, and so was the room, even though the air condition was more of a fan, and we were expecting a 3/4 star hotel to have fridges also in the budget rooms - which they did not.

The reason for rating this hotel as neutral/average has to do with other things than the rooms:
Lack of service, with unfriendly servants/receptionists - some of them only speaking latvian, is one thing.
Another, and for us the thing that really dragged the impression down, is the fact that the hotel is operating with to "classes" of breakfast: One for budget class and one for businessclass/those who were staying in the suites. "Breakfast included" for us showed up to be not only simple but EXTREMELY SIMPLE. Made that way so that as many as possible should choose the other possibility: Paying extra to be able to have the breakfast buffet served in the main building???!!!

How much does it cost to offer all guests the same breakfast?!!! Is it worth the cost if gives the hotel a bad reputation? Because it does!

  • Liked — Close to the beach/the main street.
  • Disliked — Lack of service and bad breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Twoadultsandachild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#12 of 24 in Jurmala
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pegasa Pils
Pegasa Pils
#17 of 24 in Jurmala
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parus
Parus
#9 of 24 in Jurmala
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#7 of 24 in Jurmala
29 reviews
3.9 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiropa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiropa Hotel

Property: Eiropa Hotel
Address: Juras iela 56, Jurmala 2015, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiropa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sea, golden beach and the sun ... only 100 meters away from this paradise you will find a cozy and elegant hotel Eiropa. The ideal location of the hotel - between Dzintari beach and the central pedestrian street of Jurmala, guarantee a good rest and entertainment for everyone every season. The hotel has 4 blocks - 3 buildings at the Juras Street for your convenience has 40 rooms and 7 exclusive rooms are at hotel Europe Deluxe building - Jomas Street. The rooms are fully equipped under the most demanding customer needs - the rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, phone, satellite TV, Wi-Fi, mini-bar. Exquisite design and gentle colors of rooms will leave an excellent impression on the vacation with us. Each of our clients is an awaited guest, and his interests are above everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eiropa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing