We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pegasa Pils Boutique SPA Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Eiropa Hotel(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Elina(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Sunset Hotel(Jurmala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parus(Jurmala)
View Hotel
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA(Jurmala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
20
22
13
10
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
22
13
10
18
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 83 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel is located very close to Dzintare concert hall, and that's probably the only plus I could mention about this hotel. This hotel is advertised as 4-star, but don't believe it - the you can find a better room in some 3-stars hotels. The cheap-looking yellow vynil wallpapers and thin pillow and blanket were definitely not 4-star experience. Also there was only 1 pillow per person.

The hotel is playing a loud music all the time on the street and I called them before going to sleep and asked to please turn it off, but I was told by the receiption guy that it will play until 11 pm - that actually was 12 pm in my time zone. i didn't feel any excuse in his tone.

Bit the worst thing happened in the morning when we went to the breakfast. On arrival we've told we'll need to check-out early, so they offered to cook the breakfast at 7.30 AM. Beware - The regular breakfast is at 9 pm in this hotel which is a bit weird.
So.. At 7.30 am we went to receiption and the door was closed. The sleepy guy opened it after some time and told he doesn't know anything about our breakfast and it's not ready!!!!!

Again, there was no any execuse told!! nothing! he did't even offer to cook it ASAP. We were shocked and decided to drive away immediately, we had no time to request any money back for the breakfast. I think it was not the first time they did it with their customers, so beware!

Thus we paid about 150 USD for 1 night which is expensive for this country and were left hungry. Stay away at all cost!

BTW they advertise TripAdvisor on their door, hopefully they'll read it and fire that guy out - he really ruined our stay.

Room Tip: would only stay again for free
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed in Pegasa Pils with friends for one night in December 2011 while on a weekend in Riga.

The place looks very attractive otside - like a wooden castle. Inside, it´s slightly run-down and Soviet-era style.

Our room was on the second floor in the second building, across parking lot from the main / reception building. Room had bright orange wallpaper on the walls and a carpet. There were bed, wardrobe, desk and fridge in the room. First thing I noticed as I entered the room was the noise of fridge - it was just awful how loud and noisy it was! So we just switched it off. The bed was comfy enough to have a good sleep. But the heaters in our room didn´t work so it was quite chilly - the room had large window and French-style balcony so without a heater it was quite cold. Especially in the bathroom - the tiled floor was very cold. After teking a shower it was really cold so had to get under the blanket fast. The bathroom was clean, although shampoo and shower gel provided looked like they´ve been there for several years so I prefered not to try and used my own ones.

Everything in the room looked like real Soviet-time almost-luxury. There´s supposed to be WiFi in the rooms. I called the reception and asked for a password. Although I got the password I never managed to log in - wifi was there but it just didn´t log me in. So we couldn´t use wifi.

Breakfast was quite good and food nice. There´s no great variety of meals for breakfast and most of them are quite not-for-breakfast type like potato salad, baked fish etc, but actually food was OK. Nothing brilliant, but average and eatable.

Reception staff doesn´t speak good English, preferred language is Russian. Parking is free of charge. Reception called us just after 11 in the morning and told that we have to leave quickly as we have exceeded our check-out time. Actually check-out was mentioned to be at 12. The girl at the recetion desk didn´t know who of the personnel called us and why.

In general, the place is very average. I wouldn´t stay there for the full price as it seems really expensive for what you get. Luckily this time was some kind on discount. Otherwise - Jurmala is nice in summer.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in second building face next building and get little sunshine and almost no view. The rooms ovelooking parking lot and main building are better as there´s something to look at behind the window - you have some kind on Jurmala view there and parking lot isn´t noisy at all, so I suggest to choose those rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We found this hotel terrible. Tehe taxi-driver who took us there from Riga, told it was a "bad hotel", "very expencive anf BAD service" ...and she was so right! The staff is not friendly at all, and you really get the feeling they just want your money and thats it. We tried out the SPA treatments. The massage was ok, but with a sweaty smelling treater, and long fingernails it was a bad experince. She kept massaging the bottom for 40 out of 60mins, and she didnt even cover us up.. And when she was finished she stayed in the room, just to watch us getting dressed... She asked for telephonenumber and e-mail , so she could contact us in Norway... This is NOT a professionel SPA! -and when we complained about this, we got the manager and her friends against us... And the jaccusi was full of sand... which they said was Calsium...
As for the hotel-room, there were holes in the sheets, and no AC, and it's smelly. Smelled like its been shot down for a while..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bea009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Negativ experience with the Pegasa Pils hotel, Jurmala;

We have recently experienced how a hotel can differ alot from the internet information to the real world.

It is stated in the hotel information, that the hotel has WIFI and AC. We experienced that neider was correct. The AC was not functional and the hotel managment did notthing to fix this, only tried to stall the situation!

And frankly, it should also been spesified in the hotel information that the wifi is limited to the lobby area only!

Moreover is that the hotel did not change bed linen once during the whole stay. Not good at all!

Our overall impression is that the Pegasa Pils hotel is cynically taking advantage of guests coming and going, and that the complaints of hotel guests have noe effects since new guests keep coming regardless of the poor managment from the staff!

For me and my wife the stay on Pegasa Pils hotel was a humid, sweaty and sleepless encounter. But we try to cling to the memory of Jurmala as a very nice place, and hope that if we bother coming back that other hotels are more professional and customer friendly!

For your own sake - booking with this hotel is a waste of time and money!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tommygtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Ate outside on the lovely terrace. Huge choice on all kind of dishes. Overall food quality was OK - and maybe even price/quality - but for such a standingfull hotel, we had expected better.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank be_watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews