We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rates but needs a renovation.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Semarah Hotel Lielupe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Jurmala
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good rates but needs a renovation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Can't beat the rates at this place considering how close it is to the beach. But the hotel is looking shabby. The room was clean and comfortable but it has no AC! That was a big problem for me. The shower cabin was small and the door was broken. Didn't like the breakfast, real poor selection. One thing you will enjoy is a quite atmosphere and a great night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kreytzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    100
    56
    20
    8
See reviews for
110
74
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

First of all this dont trust the appearences here. The hotel IS ugly from outside but it is rather clean and quite nice from inside if you consider the Baltic/Russian standards.

We had a pleasent stay overall. Breakfast should not be compared to western standards as some things are prepared the "local style". E.g. porridge is sweet. Toast, eggs and ham were great.

We also went to indoor pool which was clean but the showers smelled rotten.

Our room was not cleaned up during the first 2 days and on the 3rd they were coming in at 4PM just when we were coming back from the beach...the day before departure there was an incident where there was some "human substance" in the bathroom after housekeeping. I complained, they satisfactory explained and apologized, but was not compensated (I did not request it).

Staff was mostly kind and helpful. Beds were GREAT as I am having problems with my back and had absolutely no issue there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Very nice budget (not in peak season!) accommodation in Jurmala. Hotel is completely renovated and became a property with modern interiors/exterior. Definitely visit terrace restaurant "Balta Kapa" on the 10th floor - you will be rewarded with beautiful views of the Gulf of Riga and Jurmala itself, stuff they cook is also very good, but choice of beer is very poor... Breakfast is served in separate area - on the 1st floor and it is quite rich with a big choice of hot food and snacks. Hotel is located close to a beach in silent residential part of Jurmala. But if you want some more movement - Jurmala's famous Jomas street with huge amount of restaurants and other entertainment options is located not so far away - 2 stops by train. I stayed in standard room, but it was nice and clean, it also had a small balcony. So, in conclusion - I recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Plus side- Room itself was a bit basic but spotlessly clean, Breakfast was great, loads of choice, hot cooked breakfasts, fruit, cheese, meat, cereal, toast,etc. Rooftop restaurant - don't expect quick service but the two guys who run it do their best and it was great to sit up there in the evening with a cocktail or two watching the sun set over the beach and treetops on the veranda.Beach is really close and superb- flat, clean, sandy, goes on for miles, sunsets that were fantastic, beach taverns dotted along it, plus loos and changing cubicles. Russian National Ice Hockey team staying/training at the hotel for their Summer Camp while we were there. We didn't use the hotel pools/gym, etc but they looked ok.
Downside-You had to get a bus to go to the centre of the main 'action'/restaurants/clubs but that was only 10 minutes and really cheap. No air conditioning but reception told us it was exceptional warm weather (Russian heat wave blowing over apparently), temp certainly in the high-30's while we were there for the beginning Aug, normally its cooler.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackiemac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
432 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Lielupe while travelling in Latvia. The staff were all extremely helpful and we felt very comfortable during our stay. We made good use of the two pools (indoor and outdoor) as well as the sauna and spa. We loved the location - just near the beach, local shops and restaurants. The walk down the beach into Majori was an easy 40 minute stroll.

It isn't cheap compared to other places we stayed at in Latvia, but we thought the extra expense was worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Have just returned from a three nights stay at hotel Lielupe in Jurmala, me and my two girls of 8 and 11. We enjoyed Jurmala a lot, as it was mostly sunny and warm, but the hotel was not more than ok for a short stay. It's close to the beach and in walking distance to small shops/ market and a few cafe/ restaurants as well. There is both indoor and outdoor pools, which my children enjoyed, and a spa which i didn't use.The hotel is rather run down and very big, lot of walking to get to the room. We got a big room with a separate bedroom. Though when checking out they tried to charge me for two extra beds when I've booked a double room with one extra bed. Luckily I had the copy of my booking to point out to the staff, and they had to obey, of course. The cleanliness is nt very good either, I must say.
One could easily feel lost beeing scandinavians, as the majority of guests were russians or latvians, but in fact it was not a pleasant place to spend your leisure time. Late in the evening there was hardly no lights on, and loud music in the bar. I spent half an hou there for wifi connection only. The breakfast was the real let down. There's enough food and easy to find a table, but the food is mainly russian based and very poor presented, it looked like someone had thrown the food onto the serving plates and onto the table. The staff looked over worked and rarely smiled.
The staff at the restaurant on the 10th floor seemed not too interested in their guests, if not beeing rich and vdka drinking russians. The menu was not at all child friendly and as they didn't offer any alternative, we left very quickly and found other restaurants beeing very nice and child friendly.
I'd like to return to Jurmala, but would choose another accomodation. Spending most of the time at the beach or out and about, we were ok

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamta66no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night on christmas with my family as we were passing through Latvia. This was nothing short of a soviet hospital.

As it was cold, the stairs leading ointo the hotel were all iced up and there was no effort by the hotel to clean them down, presenting a dangerous situation. The walls were painted colors that you would see in a hospital and the staff walked around wearing orderly uniforms witrh bad taste. All staff spoke only russian which was disappointing as we wanted a chance to try some Latvian phrases and where we struggled they jumped straight to russian. As you walk through the hotel, most lights are switched off (saving electricity!) so be careful not to trip and hurt yourself.

We went for a swim and it was not something so easy as you would find in a western hotel, with hotel staff again in orderly uniforms registering you in to the pool area. We at one stage thought we were going to be rushed into a room for an enema. The pool area was nice though but the sauna was shutdown for the night because it was Xmas...Something we actually took the room for as we were told it was working at the front desk.

The hotel probably has a capacity of 1000 people but I would guess that there were 20 guests there that night. The hallways were eeire with silence and the cheap, worn out carpets again made it look like a soviet hospital. With such a low occupancy we still had to paid what I would say was too much for a 2-3 star hotel (my rating) which was about 60 USD a room. The room was cold at night and no extra pillows or blanketing in the room available. The mini bar was empty maybe due to off season and the showers also just had cold water.

For such a large hotel only a small amount of parking spaces were available, typical what you see for apartments in the central districts with cars piling on top of each other. Luckily in the morning we were not one of those with cars parked directly behind us.

Also, we were going to our room in the lift and a condom was lieing in the lift and we managed to distract our kids enough for them to not see it ew..

Only good thing is that it was in a nice location. It needs a professional hotel outfit to buy it out and transform it from a hospital into a proper hotel. If you are used to western hotels, this one is not for you but you may get some good laughs and giggles out of the joke it is.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OZTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jurmala hotels
2.5 mi away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
Amber Sea Hotel & SPA
#6 of 23 in Jurmala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Joma Hotel
Villa Joma Hotel
#4 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA
5.4 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#7 of 23 in Jurmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.3 mi away
KRC Jaunkemeri
KRC Jaunkemeri
#13 of 23 in Jurmala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semarah Hotel Lielupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semarah Hotel Lielupe

Property: Semarah Hotel Lielupe
Address: Bulduru prospekts 64/68, Jurmala 2010, Latvia
Location: Latvia > Riga Region > Jurmala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jurmala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jurmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Semarah Hotel Lielupe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SemaraH Lielupe Hotel is located in one of the most exclusive places in Jurmala, surrounded by forest of century old pine trees and just a few hundred meters from the sea. Jurmala is one of the most popular places of the Baltic Sea cost - an ideal place to relax.Hotel is fully renovated in 2016. There are 264 elegant rooms, spacious wellness centre with pool, sauna and spa area, as well as large and modern kids club, restaurants and conference facilities. Restaurant "Lielupe"delights its guests with an extensive international, Latvian and Russian cuisine. You can enjoy your meal on the open terrace during the summer months. Enjoy a relaxing leisure and boost your energy in our spacious Wellness Centre!We offer Spa treatments,salt chamber,25m swimming pool,kids pool, jacuzzi,finish sauna and turkish bath,modern gym, yoga and pilates hall. Your kids will be excited about the modern equipment, wide choice of games and toys in the Kids club! Two active entertainment areas for kids and babies, interactive hall with a variety of nowadays games and separate room for celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Semarah Hotel Lielupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lielupe Hotel Jurmala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing