We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurmala Beach

Jurmala Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$163.55*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Jurmala, Fisherman Villages and Nature Trails from Riga
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Jurmala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We took a day trip to Jurmala from Riga. It was about a 40 minute ride on a commuter train. Once we got there, it was easy to find our way to the beach. The walk and beach itself were great. It's well maintained and has benches all along the way for a rest. We spent a few hours there before heading back to Riga. Definitely worth exploring as it's so close to Riga but provides a very different experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tenthlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    335
    82
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to walk and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

have to visit the beach of Jurmala, its pastoral and relaxing, you can walk there for hours.
Note: the water is not that salty as in pacific ocean)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“what a jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

we rode our bicycles to and from Riga to this beautiful place. Definitely worth a short visit. Do not expect a vibrant, modern place. But definitely super charming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really like it, multilingual staff everywhere - Latvian, Russian, English. Weather condition I prefer - not too hot in summer time...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland_Jurmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheap, high-tech and frozen water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Next to the turtle statue, on the right side, you can rent plastic armchairs and tanning on the sea side for few euros.
Free wi-fi available on the beach area.
Almost impossible o have bath on the sea because of the frozen water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena333x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jurmala Beach also viewed

Jurmala, Riga Region
 

Been to Jurmala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing