We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms were good but beds not great by European standards. The breakfast was excellent and the bar was good value . No jumped up prices. Staff were nice but not over friendly. The best thing about this hotel is its location it's next door to the bus station and the shopping centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    146
    70
    11
    3
See reviews for
46
57
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keila, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed at hotel Dorpat more then 10 times in last 4 years. Love its location - in the centre of Tartu and so all the nightclubs, stores are just right there and also free parking. Rooms are not very big, but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here with family (2 kids) for 2 nights. The location of the hotel is great - very centre of Tartu - bus station, shopping mall, Ahhaa science centre and Aura water park being next door and old town within few minutes relaxing walk by the riverside.
The hotel itself is very average (in a 'good' way) - generally clean, personnel is polite and responsive, environment pleasant, rooms simple, clean, and sufficiently equipped. Families travelling with kids beware - if you travel with 2 kids and you book a standard room with 2 extra beds, you may end up in a room dedicated for disabled people. Nothing wrong with that per se, however there are some inconveniences to consider - bathroom is one big room without any separated shower area, so after 4 people showering the entire rooms is rather a small water pool, and there's no tools to clean the mess up (like it is in similar rooms in Scandinavia)... Bad luck if somebody needs to go to the toilet after the shower - he/she may need to accept sitting in a puddle of water getting their feet soaked...or use some of the towels to minimize the mess, however that's not very 'green'.

Those knowledgable of breakfast standard in most Estonian mainstream hotels, will find Dorpat offering rather good. Except for juice (plain water with artificial accent of juice taste) and coffee (served from thermos only) - it's the same disaster as in most hotels in Estonia.

We found the price for the standard this hotel is offering rather on the high side. One can find better value in Tartu.

Room Tip: Families with kids - avoid rooms for disabled, double check with personnel on what excact type of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narva, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My personal favourite in Tartu! Very convenient, quiet, clean, nice staff, delicious breakfast buffet. In the hotel there is wellness center.
Very good location!
This hotel is everything you need for the business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L_T2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Honestly, we expected much more from the hotel, considering the price we paid and general price level in Estonia which is not as expensive as many other European countries. But there are not many hotels in Tartu and we did not many choices.
Very simple hotel, nothing special, little but clean room, small beds, small TV. There were no small refrigerator in the room – you could buy warm bottled water for 1,6 Euro which was standing in the table. There was no safe in the room either.
Small and very simple bathroom with shower - water was splashing all over the floor when showering. Our room was facing the bus station. The blind was too short for the window - so you get much light in your face when sleeping – not exactly comfortable. Breakfast was just OK, again simple and nothing special but ok to eat something. There were too many people and not enough places in the restaurant.
I used the spa for massage treatment – again, it was OK, but it was difficult to talk to the lady because she did not speak English well - just simple words. Her mobile phone was vibrating during the massage treatment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Really good hotel for business trips. Free parking in the city center, central bus station right next door (good connection with Tallinn).
This is definitely one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. The room looks basic, but is very comfortable. Also, the bathroom is good - water pressure is good and everything is super clean.
The breakfast buffet has quite a wide selection. For this price Dorpat is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed one night in november. I booked a room for one person and got it but unfortunately with a small 80cm bed. Although the room was for one person I expected a bit more. Otherwise the room was decent and clean. The service in the reception was helpful and the breakfast average. I expected a bit more as the room was quite expensive for Estonia.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkramnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.5 mi away
Antonius Hotel
Antonius Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tartu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art hotel Pallas by Tartuhotels
0.4 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#2 of 21 in Tartu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
0.1 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: Soola 6, Tartu 51013, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorpat, a hotel complex bearing the old German name for Tartu. Dorpat, the largest hotel in Tartu and Southern Estonia, features a cosy restaurant with an excellent view, a wellness spa and a multifunctional conference and event centre. The hotel is located in the centre of Tartu, in the Emajõe business district, close to Tartu's main attractions - the Aura Centre and the Ahhaa Science Centre. The Old Town, the main building of the University of Tartu, the Vanemuine Theatre and shopping centres are just a short walk away. Although in the heart of Tartu, the hotel is away from the city's hustle and bustle, preserving the peace and privacy of our guests. Many rooms have a view over the city and the Emajõgi River, which most visitors remember Tartu for. Our friendly team is at your assistance and ready to make your stay memorable and exciting no matter whether you are travelling for business or pleasure. We sincerely hope that the hotel's cosy and warm atmosphere will bring you back to us time and again. See you at the Dorpat - an historically desired destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorpat Hotell Tartu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing