We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for a few days”
Review of Hostel Pepleri

Hostel Pepleri
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tartu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Pepleri
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tartu
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a few days”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I came to Tartu for a conference and I stayed at the Pepleri Hostel. I don't know if I was lucky or if all the rooms are like this, but I got a double room with a small kitchenette, a small bathroom and a TV, all for 25€ per night (breakfast not included). Not an elegant place by any means, but very convenient specially for that price.

The hostel is not exactly in Tartu city centre, but Tartu is not that big so that is not a big problem.

What I cannot imagine is living in this hostel permanently, as some people apparently do, specially if you share a room... But for a short stay, and if you are not looking for something fancy, it's very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights with an international group of 71 people in August 2013. It’s a students home that has small but comfortable and well equipped rooms (beds, cupboards, small bathroom, kitchenette, free wireless internet).
Hostel staff was very friendly and helpful regarding all aspects of the stay. The price was very good! There is limited free parking in front of the building.
The hostel is located walking distance to the city center with all the sights, nightlife and several shopping centers. The perfect base if you need budget accomodation in Tartu!
Breakfasts and a dinner for our stay where provided by the bar/cafeteria “Kotka Kelder” that is located in the same building’s basement (separate entrance at right side). The food was good and sufficient (as well as the price) but service was a little slow and not so flexible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed in a regular room for two nights and was very satisfied. The room cost 20 EUR/night but was more like a small apartment really with an en suite shower room, kitchen area, desk, TV and ample storage space. The only thing missing was wi-fi for my iPad. But if you have a regular laptop they're happy to provide you with a cable. Anyways, free wi-fi is easy to find in downtown restaurants and cafeterias. Service was also very friendly. When I had to leave a day earlier than planned (and paid for), a friendly administrator readily reimbursed for the last night. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

As my girlfriend had studied at the University of Tartu, we were keen to stay in one of the student dorms when we were there. In the event, I was able to snag the suite in the Pepleri dorm, which was fantastic value.

The suite consists of a living room, with a fridge, microwave, hot plate, TV and stereo, a separate bedroom, a sauna and a bathroom. Breakfast isn't included, but with cooking facilities it's quite possible to self-cater. We took the even easier route of buying what we wanted each day at the supermarket.

As hostels, or even student dorms, go, this was a remarkably well-appointed place, and the level of security was great as well. Even though the front desk wasn't always attended, it would have taken a lot of effort for anyone to get into any rooms without being meant to do so.

The major drawback, though, was the location. Pepleri is handy to the train station (a great benefit when we arrived in pouring rain), but a fair distance from the main sights of Tartu, and also from the bus station from which we left.. Still, Tartu isn't a big city by any means once you're in the centre, and needing to walk a bit every day isn't a major issue.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Professionalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.2 mi away
Looming Hostel
Looming Hostel
#3 of 24 in Tartu
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hektor Design Hostel
Hektor Design Hostel
#2 of 24 in Tartu
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
2.0 mi away
Starest
Starest
#12 of 21 in Tartu
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Tartu
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pepleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pepleri

Property: Hostel Pepleri
Address: Pepleri 14, Tartu 51003, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing