We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Impressive mixture of old and new.

When I am abroad I like to visit churches. This is more beautiful at the outside whereas the inside... read more

Reviewed May 9, 2019
Philip P
,
Herentals, Belgium
Cool cocert place

Church has found its new start after mr. Jaeger has started to organise different music events. I... read more

Reviewed November 16, 2018
Uku S
,
Saaremaa, Estonia
Read all 115 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tartu
from $422.74
More Info
from $507.29
More Info
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
59
40
13
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
40
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terra cotta tower figurines purely architecture photos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 115 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2018

Church has found its new start after mr. Jaeger has started to organise different music events. I recommend!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Uku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Recently renovated, 2005, this is a nice church. The main characteristic is the so called 1000 figurines inside the church

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

It is quite special - from the point of few of the history and architecture. It is well restored and I made some parallels with Luebeck, what I visited few days ago.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Rexonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

An interesting, perhaps unique, example of Baltic Gothic church architecture, featuring dozens of pieces of terra cotta statuary in niches both inside and outside of the brick building. Church was badly damaged in WWII, so much of what we see today has been significantly restored. Very worth a visit, especially since it is free (1 Euro charge for pictures). Nice little gift shop features various local, handmade products from gloves to cufflinks.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

St. John or Janni church is fine example of Baltic brick gothic style from 14th century. Exterior is quite impresive and intersting but inside is very plan and simple without any decoration. Most famous feature is terracotta figures on outer walls and also some on inner walls of the church. Generally entrance is fre but if you want to make photos inside church you have to pay 1 euro! Also, if someone wants to climb on the tower that will cost him additional 2 euros. Church is really nice outside and worth a quick visit inside.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank DejanNS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews