We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Service”
Review of Tartu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tartu Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed in the hostel part of the hotel.
Important requirements for us are :-
PRICE - was good value for money. LOCATION - excellent location - conveniently across from the central bus station - 5-7minutes walk to the old town centre and tourist interests - a huge shopping centre on the other side of the bus station. QUITE - dorm room was quite (there were very few guests were in the hostel area). SECRUITY - good security - felt safe
Other aspects are :-
STAFF - were excellent - friendly, kind, helpful and efficient. CLEANLINESS - dorm and bathroom were spotless. DORM ROOM - comfortable with TV and free wifi - BREAKFAST - excellent buffet style with a great choice.
As we were leaving very early the next morning, a takeaway breakfast was offered. A huge breakfast, enough for lunch as well !!
Though a budget 3 star hotel, the hostel was excellent - it was one of three best accommodations we had during our two months travelling in eastern Europe.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FionaButterick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 263 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a budget hotel, but perhaps *too* budget. The rooms reminded me of a student dorm. There were unidentified hairs (the cleaners'?) on the bed blanket. There was a slight, but definite, smell of sewage in my room coming from the bathroom drain. Staff at the counter were generally fairly unhelpful. You get one small pillow and are made to feel that you are being demanding if you ask for a second. Breakfast is pretty horrible- grey bacon, overcooked sausages- you are better off going to the McDonalds' round the corner. I wouldn't stay here again, but also it's not the worst hotel I've ever been to, unfortunately!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH1977L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very average hotel with old design furniture.Excellent location in the middle of Tartu is the only real plus of this hotel.Pretty good breakfast.Free car parking.Rooms are also very average.Second part of this hotel is hostel, much cheaper...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andronNDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The toilet seat had something on it and obviously hadn't been cleaned. The sheets also were not so good. They had some strange stains so I ended up removing the comforter and flat sheet and just sleeping on the bed with the fitted sheet and no covers. If you want to use wifi in your room be sure to request a room close to the elevator or the signal won't reach it. It is conveniently located across the bus station and the staff are nice but it felt overpriced and given lack of cleanliness I would go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebirdmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in twin room, the room itself is very basic - 2 beds, working desk, TV. Bonus they have an Aircondition. The breakfast was simple too, but you get what you need. They have a sauna for extra charge.
The hotel is not in the old centre, just 5-7 minutes walk from it so no need for a taxi. In total an average, inexpensive hotel for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It's a budget hotel. We paid E.65, and that felt like a lot.

The welcoming receptionist was really very good, could not fault her. But thereafter the staff were ok to sulky.

The room was clean and not awful, but it was small, in fact we were travelling with 2 suitcases and could really only have them open on the bed.

It's only a 5 minute walk from the centre (NOTE: make sure you ask the receptionist to direct you along the riverbank), but it feels like you're in the middle of the bus garage. Which you are to some extent.

But the truly worst single thing was the breakfast. The room is fine, and on a good day you could sit outside. But I felt they had got budget low quality everything. And when it ran out then it wasn't replaced.

And the internet access did not work in our room.

I really want to be more positive about this hotel, but I just feel that each plus had a minus

So in summary, a low cost hotel, where you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I needed a place to crash after a night out so I stumbled upon this cozy hotel.
It's just across the central bus station of Tartu. Excellent location.

Rather than babble I'll just rate this hotel like this:
+ Excellent location
+Prices are cheapest in Tartu
+Spotless clean room/bathroom
+Nice 24" LCD TV (don't find many of those, even in 4 star hotels)
+Quiet. Place is really quiet.
+Enough room to stretch around. Even if you stay in a single bed/person room.
+Excellent service. I stumbled in at 5 am in the morning, asked for a room and also got a discount. Also, asked for a mobile phone charger. Receptionist just gave it to me - no questions or extra fees or nothing. Didn't even ask for my signature on anywhere that he had given it to me. Simply a trust thing. (It was his personal charger).

+/-Rather..not-so-much experience on the breakfast. Nothing excessive, but It fills you up. Also had the worst hangover so don't take my word for it on this.

Also, I would like to state that the location is ideal. Sure. You can get a 4 star hotel in the exact middle of the city, where all the clubs/pubs and restaraunts are, but you do have to realise - Tartu has the busiest nightlife in all of Estonia. There's party all night. Just across from your hotel if you are staying in the center of the city.
Hotel Tartu is what - about 900 meters from all the pubs/restaraunts, but still far enough away not to have that noisy/busy party going on all day and night.
Plus you can literally take 20 meter stroll to get on the bus and be anywhere in Estonia in couple of hours.

What's not to like?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tõnu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antonius
Hotel Antonius
#2 of 22 in Tartu
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#6 of 22 in Tartu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#1 of 22 in Tartu
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
0.4 mi away
Barclay Hotell
Barclay Hotell
#14 of 22 in Tartu
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tartu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tartu Hotel

Address: Soola 3, Tartu 51013, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range: $56 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tartu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tartu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing