We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Draakon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Draakon
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Tartu
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel is located on the main plaza of the old town, all tourist sites are within a short walk. Our room had a mini bar with a refrigerator, and it was spacious and clean.It also had two tables to put your suitcases on. Several local dishes were offered for breakfast which was excellent. Free parking was available in the courtyard of the hotel. Hotel is quiet, and the bed was comfortable. A lift is available to reach the upper floors.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the back yard and we heard something behind rolled around around 6:15 AM - It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taronger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nice and helpful personnel, quite big rooms, overwhelming breakfast...and very good location.
During the last week of april the students of Tartu university have their annual feast, but everything went very smoothly, we saw no littering at all, and the weather was also fine. A quite small town and inexpensive to live also a longer time. Very beautiful and well kept University Botanical Garden.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annawannagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

everything was as Tripadvisor said-perfectly situated in the center of the city,almost no other visitors,kind staff.Only breakfast-not enough quality for 4 star hotel.very nice city and country-not hesitate to visit-for business or leizure.almost all young people speak doog English,easy to find everything-buses,restorants,places.Thanks to all who wrote a review and helped me very much.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjiBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Stayed here on a work trip and had been expecting the worst after reading reviews. In fact it was one of the most comfortable hotels I have stayed in. Pillows and matresses were blissfully comfortable and the bathroom was absolutely enormous. Common areas were also of a high quality.
Only slight disappointment was the quality of the Estonian cuisine at breakfast, e.g. porridge made with water and reconstituted scrambled egg! But the bread was good.
In terms of value for money, the accommodation was really excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank NWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2007

After spending three days trying to confirm our reservation (they would not return our emails nor phone us) we finally arrived at the hotel to a luke-warm reception... I seriously think the hotel was closed for the season, but they were happy to open the hotel for a couple of nights, given we decided to book a premium room.

Service was pretty woeful - usual Soviet-style grumbling efficiency. Breakfasts were a distaster - I am sure they served up the same leftovers day after day. Staff seemed to help themselves to various pastries and coffee while we were dining and thought nothing of it (perhaps they were bored, given we were the only guests!)

Parking was a plus - we had a rental car, so the few spots out the back for guests were a bonus for us.

I'd seriously consider the Barklay Hotel nearby. We payed top dollar for our room and I can't say it was really worth it, given the whole experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SydneyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Hotel has a perfect location and our double room was wide and the bed was good. Only not so good thing was the breakfast, which was very simple. The hotel has own guarded parking area (only for few cars) which is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jossu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prague, Czech Republic
19
Reviewed August 5, 2005

This hotel advertises airconditioning. The temperature was around 30 and the window could only be tilted open slightly. However when I persuaded the receptionist to turn on the air-con (which was ineffective in any case) the hotel manager ordered it to be turned off. When I complained by telephone to the manager (she refused to meet me) I was abused and treated as though it was my fault the room was uninhabitable. I can only imagine she was a graduate of a hospitality school for managing a Soviet gulag.

Stayed: July 2005
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.4 mi away
V Spa & Conference Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotell
Barclay Hotell
#14 of 22 in Tartu
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#5 of 22 in Tartu
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art hotel Pallas by Tartuhotels
2.1 mi away
Starest
Starest
#13 of 22 in Tartu
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Draakon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Draakon

Address: Raekoja plats 2, Tartu 51003, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range: $57 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Draakon 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Draakon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing