We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pleasure is in the details”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antonius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antonius Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The pleasure is in the details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I spent four nights in Hotel Antonius when I was in Tartu for a conference at the university. It is really located, just off the main square and pedestrian streets where the bars and restaurants are, but tucked away on a quiet street. My room was a lovely place to retreat to for a moment of calm during a busy conference. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated, with a newly renovated bathroom. I didn't use the tv much but it had several channels in English - the wifi was fast and I made use of the computer and printing facilities in the common room on the ground floor. The breakfast was amazing, especially the porridge. The kitchen staff even made me a sandwich to take away on departure as my bus to the airport left very early. All the young people working in Antonius were friendly, polite, professional and efficient. All in all, I had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    49
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
87
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed only for one night, but enjoyed every minute of it. Room was great, lots of space, bathroom was also big. Breakfast and staff were also very good. Great location! And hotel/room has a very romantic atmosphere:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnyeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
431 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Checking in to the Antonius is like being snuggled into a warm fur. Everything is first class from reception to breakfast. Great location in a lovely city. If anything could be improved, it would be the internet that has too big of an area of dead spots. Thanks for the hospitality.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The rooms are spacious, old-styled. The location is central, on the charming streets of the old town. Breakfast is great. The staff Is professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend the hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely decor, very friendly staff both in reception and breakfast room, good breakfast, location excellent, quiet and spacious rooms. This was so lovely, that I would recommend it to anyone visiting Tartu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mipu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We had an unforgetable stay at the hotel! Enjoyed every second of our stay: room, design, view out of the window, breakfast (mmmmm, so deliceous!), location.
The only thing I would compain is that there is no free car- parking provided by the hotel only the city parking for extra money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel Antonius in Tartu was a very beautiful hotel and every room had its own style. I wish that I could live in this forever. Staff were very friendly and professional and will definitely come back when I can explore Estonia in my own time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms had their own unique charm so do not think you would be disappointed as all of high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.1 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tartu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Art hotel Pallas by Tartuhotels
0.5 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antonius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonius Hotel

Property: Antonius Hotel
Address: Uelikooli 15, Tartu 51003, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antonius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antonius is a charming and luxurious boutique hotel in the centre of Tartu, directly opposite the university. This brand new hotel offers 16 romantic suites and rooms on 4 floors. The decoration and design of each room was carefully chosen and thought out, combining special colour and wallpaper patterns, wall paintings, fireplaces, stoves, and antique furniture. Some rooms have amazing views of nearby Tartu University, while others face the old town’s red roofs. The Antonius Hotel is located in a building with a long and dignified history, being first mentioned in the historical records of the 16th century. During the subsequent centuries the building was home to a hat shop, the Livonian Noblemen’s Manor House Credit Association, and the famous Guild of Saint Antonius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antonius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing