We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel in town”
Review of Antonius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antonius Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tartu
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in town”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had 2 nights here recently. The hotel is very well situated right opposite the main university building. It happened to be graduation day, so we had a grandstand view of the events of this great occasion. We had a lovely attic room with beamed ceiling, huge bed and lots of space, plus big 'wet room'. Our friends were on a lower floor with an equally nice room rather more tastefully decorated (ours was a bit flowery for my liking).
Great position for the town, extremely helpful front desk staff and wonderful breakfast - with sparkling wine! what more could one ask for?!

Room Tip: Attic if you like flowery paper! otherwise, 2nd floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    51
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
89
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved this hotel the minute we walked in. The decor is a wonderful blend of Old World charm and modern luxury. Our room faced the street, had huge ceilings, and was filled with light. Bathroom was also huge, filled with light, and decked out in beautiful white marble. Breakfast spread was very nice. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was travelling around Estonia in September 2012 and opted to stay here for two nights. The hotel is in a great location, just opposite the main university building and right in the middle of the city. The rooms are well-appointed with good bathrooms. The staff are friendly but not much in evidence once one checks in. The restaurant serves a very good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was in the Antonius on January for one night stay.As I am origin from Tartu myself,then I know the town very well and the hotel cant be in better central place.Its exactly opposite the Tartu University and in the old town,which is small and compact,so you can easily get anywhere.
The hotel is renovated and keeps its old historical style.Its very nice mainly,only I didnt like the odd grey color of furniture in my room,it made a bit hospital feeling.Too cold unpleasant color.
The bed was good and as it was winter,was good to choice your own room temperature.
In bathroom should have been floor heating but it didnt work,so all water what came out from shower reminded on floor and made it wet.The shower area I prefer not to be so opened,if there were 2 of us,the next person should be on wet floor!
The breakfast is a la carte,buffet was very small,maybe because of January and not so many people.It means you have to wait your service what was fast and good but I prefer my own choices.Good coffee whats very important,food good too.But no fresh croissants,just muffins what I dont like.Sparkling wine in the morning.
Yes,it is one of the best hotels in central Tartu and if you like old style,book it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Antonius hotel is very well located right in the heart of Tartu. They offer valet parking for EUR 7 a night which we thought was very reasonable. Check in went smooth.

The hotel and its rooms are decorated with a lot antique furniture. We are much more into modern hotels, so this was not really our style. But on the other hand the rooms are very well maintained and large, so we understand all the very good reviews the hotel is getting.

Breakfast is good with sparkling wine and some nice items that are made to order like omelettes.

We really love university towns because there is always a lot going on. However, when we stayed in Tartu we missed the energy we expected: restaurants and bars were rather empty. Probably just a bad day in Tartu.

Although it may not be our style, we still think the Antonius hotel is a very nice option when staying in Tartu!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It just happened, that other hotels were booked and a business trip with meeting was organised in Antonius. The room was mixing past centuries historic touch with modern comfort, there was a lot of space and possibility to feel old city around you. The staff was helpful and wireless connection smooth and fast. The location opposite to University of Tartu main building near Rathouse is excellent and silent, parking in front of hotel at night free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirschberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in a suite 2 nights and I must say it was the best stay I have ever had so far. The room was extremely big (as was the bed), clean and tidy. The same goes for the bathroom that was simply immense (bathrobes were provided and many towels). The personnel was extremely service-minded and helpful for everything (thank you Rooten, you are the best). The breakfast area was very cute and the food was good and with a wide choice (even sparkling wine!).
the location is perfect as it is in the city centre and right in front of the university.
The only thing I could suggest to improve is the amount of TV channels in English.
Great value for money! Congratulations guys, you are doing a fantastic job at the hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street offer a nice view over the university.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamCandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.1 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tartu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel London by Tartuhotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Art hotel Pallas by Tartuhotels
0.5 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#8 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antonius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonius Hotel

Property: Antonius Hotel
Address: Uelikooli 15, Tartu 51003, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antonius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antonius is a charming and luxurious boutique hotel in the centre of Tartu, directly opposite the university. This brand new hotel offers 16 romantic suites and rooms on 4 floors. The decoration and design of each room was carefully chosen and thought out, combining special colour and wallpaper patterns, wall paintings, fireplaces, stoves, and antique furniture. Some rooms have amazing views of nearby Tartu University, while others face the old town’s red roofs. The Antonius Hotel is located in a building with a long and dignified history, being first mentioned in the historical records of the 16th century. During the subsequent centuries the building was home to a hat shop, the Livonian Noblemen’s Manor House Credit Association, and the famous Guild of Saint Antonius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Antonius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing