We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No spice”
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Ranked #677 of 942 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $30 - $52
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No spice”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The restaurant had no "spice" literary and in any other sense. Kitschy decoration, polite but dull service, warm battled water, boring food. Nothing was horrible, but cannot recommend to anybody.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    46
    25
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

It is one of the oldest restaurants in Tallinn. Located at the Town Hall square makes it a touristy place. Food is good and not overly expensive. Servings are somewhat small which keeps the prices down. Service is ok.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced tourist trap, not worth it”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were shown to a corner table by a waitress with no knowledge of customer service, no words such as "welcome" were spoken. Dirty dishes were lying around a bar counter, evdn though the kitchen door was closeby and the place was not crowded at all. There was also a cloth iron standing on a table for no apparent reason. We started to look at the menu and were shocked - 11 euros for a basket of naan bread, 6,70 for a "large" portion of rice!! We went on and ordered food, waited a good 40 minutes without any attention from the staff. The food had no sauce, the tandooris were served on a dry cabbage bed. The dryest indian cuisine experience Ive ever had. I can confidently say after paying 30 euros for 2 glasses of wine, rice and dry chicken, that I'm never going back and I do not recommend this place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JulioHyblesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happier”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Been visiting this place a few times around this time of year for a couple of years now for the love of indian food. Had the best experience so far.. An indian guy greeted me this time and took me to dining hall that i already knew but it was polite and you expect to see some indians in indian place.ambience n that indian smell, amazing. Service was friendly, great tasting food ( if they can do something about the size of dish servings :( ) prpbably one of the best places to overlook the christmas market from its windows and enjoy the evening in tallinn.. Next year again, hopefully

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS food, visited 3 times, but some odd quirks that let the side down.”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

First of all, the food itself @ Maharaja is excellent and I can think of no negative comments. For a tasty and authentic Indian meal (well, as authentic as you can get in the Baltics), look no further.

But, the downsides...

1) Prices were on the high side. £25-30 per head for a main course and two glasses of local beer each. Had the portion sizes been a little larger, the price would’ve been acceptable, but the curry dishes themselves were small. Rice was plentiful, but was relatively expensive, and 1 pint/0.5L of local beer is almost 5 Euros. One bottle/0.33L of imported beer is the same price.

2) Service was unusual and patchy. Waiting staff were friendly, but not especially attentive…when it came to ordering further drinks, etc., they were nowhere to be seen, despite the restaurant being almost empty. Staff were also Estonian rather than Indian, which I of course have no problem with, but I do suspect that the staff were not particularly knowledgeable about Indian food/cuisine, and this was evident when we attempted to ask some questions about the dishes we fancied.

3) On one occasion, I ordered a glass of ‘Coca Cola’, and it was disgusting! Despite being presented on the menu as ‘Coke’ – as in the internationally-recognised brand – it was clearly some kind of very cheap supermarket brand, but with a premium ‘Coke’ price tag. Completely undrinkable.

I WOULD visit the Maharaja again - indeed, I visited 3 times in 4 days - but only because the food IS really good. As for the other things, there's a bit of work to be done before I would consider it to be a great restaurant overall.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing