We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Tallinn
Post
Inbox
Search

“Atmospheric restaurant with tasty food”
Review of Olde Hansa

Olde Hansa
Reserve a Table
Ranked #74 of 1,308 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $6 - $53
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The medieval restaurant Olde Hansa is the home of a rich merchant, whose guests enjoy delicious, authentic Hansa-era meals and drinks, true period music and always friendly service. All of the dishes on the menu, including many wild game delicacies, are cooked using 15th century recipes and methods. Medieval musicians delight the guests every night of the week except Mondays. Tallinn Card holders receive a sweet treat with every meal purchased - a bag of freshly roasted almonds, on the house!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would definitely recommend to try this restaurant. Atmosphere is something: workers are wearing medieval styled uniform, life music is playing and candles everywhere, almost no electricity. Same style furniture and plates, really immerse you into medieval time. Food was really tasty and special, never tried such dishes before, also we were offered welcome drinks. What is not least important -service was just amazing.
Prices might be bit higher than in average in Tallinn, but this experience totally worth it.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anastasvah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 6,260 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is highly overrated. We had such high expectations based on the reviews and we were sadly disappointed. The food is not worth the money. The atmosphere is unique. Will not recommend this place.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank carpediemtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very olde worlde experience, large wooden tables with candles and waiting staff in costume. Very good mushroom soup then followed by the game fillets and the game sausages. Very rich flavours and quite substantial so didn’t need dessert. Something a little different

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank beverleydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Okay so it’s touristy!!! I LOVED this place! Wandering round the old town on a cold grey October day we passed this place and nearly didn’t go in as we thought it was a museum! However a costumed lady welcomed us and invited us in and sooo glad we did! I love a bit of theatre! The decor was fabulous . We ordered hot spiced apple and ginger to drink ( yum!) and. Crispy apple cake. Both delicious! I loved the toilet so much I had to return to get my camera!! Wrought iron locks and wooden seat on the “throne”. Great place for a fun break!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I give it a 4 out of 5 just because they are quite slow in terms of bringing the food. Otherwise the services are great .... food incredible ... nice music ... nice people. Our waitress was probably the kindest person we ever meet ... she took the time in explaining every dish and she also told us some nice medieval stories about the place.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cosmin2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Hansa also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Olde Hansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing