We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Who doesn't love a soviet prison

This has to be the best tour I have been to. Great guide, with in depth knowledge in the communist... read more

Reviewed November 25, 2016
Matias L
,
Western Finland, Finland
via mobile
Guide is a must

Without the guide, the prison is just a slightly creepy old building with great street art. With a... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2016
MichielV703
via mobile
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
24
8
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
24
8
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2016

We had a guided tour which took a little less than 2 hours (there were only 3 of us on the tour). It was interesting and I would recommend the tour as the guide tells you some of the history and she has keys to parts of the building not otherwise accessible.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank JoanofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

In all my years of travelling the whole world this is in my top 3 experiences! This is for the curious, the intruiged, the "wierd" and pretty much everything in between! A great tour and so much knowledge from the guide! Apparently you can only see it with a guide in the winter (which you must go to the website and pre-book) but i dont know why you wouldnt do it with a guide to get all that information! It gives a great insight into tallinn and its soviet history so it should be on your list for that if nothing else!
If you go in winter wrap up warm and make sure your camera has plenty of battery!!

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Louise e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

The fortress has an interesting history you can explore and see what it wiuld5be like as both a fortress and prison. There is some creepy rooms in there and being in the dark is a great element of the tour. If you're scared of the dark probably not your thing.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Nomeian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016

The huge Patatrei building has served as a fortress, garrison and prison - impressive in itself but brought alive by our guide Viktor's deep and partly personal knowledge of its dark history.

Walking around the corridors, cells and other "facilities", sometimes with the aid of a flashlight, Viktor's descriptions of the building of what it was used for from its original purpose through to its use by the Nazi and Soviet regimes was very interesting and often chilling. His knowledge and interpretations of the building's past right up to it's final days as Estonia gained its freedom make for a fascinating and chilling reminder of what humans can do to each other.

Thoroughly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015

This is an unforgettable tour. Vicktor was perfect at guiding us through the dilapidated prison with a torch light and providing us with much insight into the darker and menacing side of Estonia's history. As soon as the rusty gate creaked open and Vicktor appeared stony-faced from the other side, we had no idea what we had let ourselves in for..... I would thoroughly recommend the experience if you are ready to be put out of your comfort zone.

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews