We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mack Bar-B-Que

Mack Bar-B-Que
Ranked #82 of 916 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Whenever I visited this place the food was always delicious, prices are not small, but I would say the food is worth it. So give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Okay place but the food is only average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I like to be here and some food is really good and some not better than average. The serviceis more than helfpul and trying to give you a good time. But besides some starters and one of the burgers the food is not than convincing for that price level. I will never understand why nearly every meat dish tasts like they wanted to bake a cake, too much sugar in it especially in all that so called barbecue dishes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

If you're looking for "American" food in Tallinn then Mack is a pretty safe bet. They offer huge portions of heavy food- burgers, ribs, pizza, milkshakes- and if you're in the mood for that, then this place delivers. On the negative side for me, their food is just so heavy, even the salads leave you feeling bloated and like you've eaten far too much. They are not at all about great quality ingredients or fresh, seasonal food and for me that's a problem. We really didn't enjoy it very much, and for the money there are a lot better restaurants in Tallinn.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyEllaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“If you want Americana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My father lives in Tennessee, so I am familiar with "southern eating". I have been to both Baby Back Ribs (BBR) and Mack. I prefer Mack. Both have great ice cream shakes (yeah, a little pricey), but the ribs at BBR always seem to taste like lighter fluid! Definitely get the pork ribs at Mack.

The baked beans are the pits, however. My wife even made some REAL baked beans and took them to the manager to try, but we still haven't seen any improvements! :-)

Cole slaw is good.

By the way, though I don't drink at all, I do know that Americans (and yes, hello! this is an American-styled restaurant) drink their beer ice-cold (but not with ice in it!) So don't complain about the beer being too cold!

Prices may be a little high, but you are paying for the "theme" too.

I have never had bad service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sibermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Waitresses had very grim faces. Not friendly at all. We were sitting quite close to the kitchen and heard when our food was ready (cooks ringed the bell at least 5 times), by the time our food arrived it was already cold. The catfish I ate was horrible.

The place is to be avoided at any cost!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mack Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Mack Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing