We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitch perfect flavors and textures! Exquisite!”
Review of Trofe Restaurant

Trofe Restaurant
Reserve a Table
Ranked #155 of 1,279 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: European, Norwegian, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Largely inspired by the northern food culture, the menu features game, meat and fish from the lands and waters of the Baltic and Scandinavian regions. The restaurant also offers a selection of classic northern appetisers and mouth watering desserts.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Stumbled on this restaurant (came in from the backside and ate on the outdoor terrace) and was delighted by the experience of this random find. The service was a little wanting (perhaps due to our latish arrival for lunch) but the execution of the food more than made up for any shortcomings. I had the duck breast (perfectly cooked and wonderfully tender) that came on an eclectic assortment of grilled roots and vegetables. Someone else had the salmon - also perfectly cooked - and brilliantly plated. Not the cheapest but great value nonetheless. Very refined without being pretentious. Cannot recommend the food more highly.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pacificblue143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Trofe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having a lunch at our restaurant Trofe! We are happy to hear that it was a highly positive experience and that we managed to exceed your expectations.
Thank you for all your positive compliments and for recommending our restaurant also to other potential customers!

Welcome back to try the new flavors of our upcoming autumn/winter menu available in October!

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2019

The portions we found a little bit big but there was good service with a smile and that of course also counts!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Trofe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice feedback!
Next time you are welcome to take some of your friends with you as sharing is caring! :-)

Welcome back!

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

We had a really nice dinner with four. The restaurant has some tasty Estonian specialities. Service is excellent and the ambiance downstairs is lovely. The lightly smoked duck was perfectly medium pink as requested. Although tastes are like fine dining, the portions are pretty large, so good value. Enjoy.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank PeterJaap d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Trofe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having a dinner in our Trofe restaurant!
We appreciate your compliments regarding the tastes which you categorized as fine dining. Actually our intention is not to compete with fine dining restaurants at all. We just want to offer our guests good quality food which is well presented and suits with the overall atmosphere. If guests think that we also have excellent service then we are 100% happy!

Welcome back to have another lovely evening with us!

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

We visited Trofe twice during our stay so were able to try much of the menu and it is a delight. Why it does not appear higher on the best restaurants I have no idea. Even though Tallin was packed for the song and dance festival Torfe was not full, thank goodness. walk in for four and service and food perfect. Do not expect to ignore your servers on both occasions we were made to feel welcome and more, chatting about food and Estonia more widely. Lastly, fed to every Estonian child, but given a special twist by the chef. Kama we will be trying it at home, in the meantime try it at Torfe

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 757tonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Trofe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Dear Guests,

We are delighted to hear that you decided to visit our restaurant and not only once but twice during your stay here in Tallinn.
I hope that with the help of such comments as yours and other guests who have visited our restaurant and given their positive feedback, we will one day be among the best restaurants in Tallinn.

Great that you loved our childhood favorite dessert KAMA and enjoyed our friendly service.

Welcome back next time!

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

We have spent a good deal of time looking at menus in different restaurants during our time in Tallinn. Trofe had one that stood out, enough that we remembered it this evening and hiked back through the rain to eat there. It was worth every step!

I had a delicious chicken dish with coconut milk lentils. It was such a flavorful delight! My husband had the duck, with roasted vegetables, and it was amazing! I normally am a fan of spicy food, but this was not spicy at all, yet I loved it! The spices that were used were subtle, yet so well chosen and combined that I didn't even miss the "heat".

Dessert was a slice of pure creamy chocolate, with raspberry sorbet and diced marinated rubarb. Pure heaven!

The pricing was more than reasonable for our dishes. The final tab put this in the mid-range pricing column, but the food was much more like fine dining!

Service was so friendly and helpful! She paired the perfect wine for our meal, and handled the whole restaurant by herself, but never missed a beat.

To top it off, the TV was playing the Tallinn Folk Dance Festival, and there were a lot of glistening eyes in the room, including mine. It was a perfect dinner all the way around!

Estonia is, and should be, proud! And so should this chef! Job well done!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redcayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHTL, General Manager at Trofe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your superb feedback and warm compliments!
We love your detailed comments which come from the heart. It shows that we are really doing at least some things very good and hope to continue that way in order to offer great food and service to many other guests who will find our restaurant.

I will pass your positive words to our staff.

Once again thank you very much and we are glad that we managed to offer you a memorable evening in the restaurant Trofe during that rainy evening.

Welcome back in the future!

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trofe Restaurant also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Trofe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing