We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring menu and poor service”

Bordoo at Three Sisters
Ranked #83 of 970 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $70
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen, Central European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The visitors of the restaurant are being offered the interpretation of the Baltic and Estonian gourmet cuisine, an innovative gastronomic approach to traditional cooking methods, high-quality local food products and the world gastronomic heritage.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Uninspiring menu and poor service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I can only echo the previous reviewer, Mummi1111, in the comments. Uninspiring menu . I couldn’t bring myself to order a hamburger (which is the default room service option post midnight). And there were only two other choices. I asked what the fish of the day was, only to be told it was “white”. I probed a bit further – any particular kind of white fish? But only was told “its called White Fish”.

There were only two other tables occupied – and this was a Friday evening. However, that didn’t prevent the service from being appalling.

A very dull, and quite pricy, meal served by an indifferent and bored waiter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so good as we were told”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This Bordoo was highly recommended to us. In the middle of the summer on a thursday evening the atmosphere was very winter-a like with candles and poor air condition. The menu was boring: Cesar salad, Goat cheese salad or soup as a starter, and main courses also very usual. I finally too a Hamburger as a main course, and in the egg there were several pieces of the eggshell !
The other took fish soup, the catch of the day, or lamb rack. They said those were ok, but nothing special. We were the only customers except a German group. The wine list was good, but only the third wine we selected was available,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mummi11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I dined at Bordoo on a Saturday evening in April. The menu was a fixed price of €55 without wine.
It was really good. The Amuse bouche x 2 were both tasty and beautifully presented. The second was served in a cigar box. There were two 'lit cigars' resting on the base. It was duck wrapped in vine leaves shaped as cigars with 'ash' on the tip and on the base of the box. Really different and very good. The rest of the courses were also of an extremely high standard incorporating fish, vegetables & beef in different guises, all served with charm and style.
This was one of the best meals we have had in charming surroundings, compliments to the chef and his team, do give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mu35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top marks for ambience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Bordoo is excellent for ambience - quiet, muted lights, tables set well apart, decor in keeping with the rest. The food was likewise good, the rather short menu was a good sign that what would appear would be carefully prepared. The fish "Landscape" was ok, though the overall result of this melange was that no clear impression of what one was eating emerged. The venison casserole was just as it should have been, mermorably gamey. The one disappointment was the somewhat restricted wine list. The Alsace pinot gris was really too sweet to be drunk with a main course, true the waiter warned us that it had "sweet notes", but I did not expect the notes to be so strongly sweet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaelic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pampering experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A really nice place. Very good service (one of the best I've experienced), good dishes, beautiful interior and a high price tag. I recommend choosing their complex menues containg 5 or more dishes. These are nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ilona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bordoo at Three Sisters also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Bordoo at Three Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing