We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not fantastic”
Review of Restaurant O

Restaurant O
Ranked #13 of 1,254 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Eastern European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We opted for the 11 course menu and it is an interesting experience! Some courses were great (e.g. elk) whilst others weren't (like the fish courses). There's also a 'bread ' course which is fine but fills you up and the quality is poor.

For us there was way too much smokey flavour and, coupled with pickles or dill oil on almost all courses, made everything taste too similar. By the middle we were bored with the food. Sadly, it wasnt good enough for the 100 euro per head price. The service however was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dalyncarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 388 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

We visited during a weekend dedicated to the Christmas market. This beautiful city has many restaurants dedicated to the medieval history of the old town, many of which are fun and tasty. Restaurant O however brings a modern twist to the local cuisine, still using traditional ingredients but with a beautiful style and delicious new bites. Don’t miss the cocktail of the day either, using local fruits. Well worth a visit when you’ve had enough of huge sausages and rustic plates.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DK735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

We picked the smaller Menue with only 6 courses and we were so delighted - not only was the service excellent but the food was just to die for! There is not one course in particular that I would want to highlight as they all were just amazing!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

We had the six course tasting menu and there was certainly some fun and interesting ingredients on the menu which gave it a great character. However there were a few major disappointments during our meal:

- One of our mains were unfortunately COLD when served. When I gave the feedback to our waitress she said that it was because the food was due to be served at the same time as my boyfriend went to the toilet (he was away for a maximum of 3 min). Because they could not service it immediately they had to keep it under the heating-lamps and it then became cold. I’m sorry but when enjoying a 6 course menu during 3 hours you eventually have to go to the toilet. I was so disappointedly we didn’t receive an apology or compensation what so ever, instead it was our fault as guests!? Honestly this was a major disappointment!!!

- The service was VERY slow although the restaurant only had about 6 smaller tables with guests. For example: It took 35 minutes between our last main course until we got our dessert.

- If the restaurant wish to maintain an international standard the staff need to massively improve their English, our waiter was very hard to understand and she had quite a lot of difficulties to present the food.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 203hannae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

Just at the foot of the old town. Modern stylish decor. Amazing cuisine made only with local fresh products and prepared with an exquisite refinement. Wine and food match possible and highly recommended. Accompanied by very interesting and lively explanations from our waiter. A wonderful dinner!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 655brunog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant O also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Restaurant O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing