We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a wine stop”
Review of Umami Resto

Umami Resto
Ranked #89 of 1,254 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Umami can be translated as "rich savory taste" and "richness of flavors" describes us the best! Umami is a second restaurant by Sommelier Kristjan Peäske and Chef Janno Lepik alongside very popular Leib at the old town. We continuously cooperate with local farmers, but at Umami we are having fun with some great “imported” flavours. Our choice of beverages is rather original and various than enormous. From freshly squeezed juices and craft beers to carefully selected wines and home made spirits we find something suitable to every taste. For craft beer lovers we even brew our own beer!
Reviewed June 7, 2019

We were lucky enough to visit Tallinn on a hot sunny weekend in May. Umami is a lovely place to sit and enjoy being near the sea whilst enjoying a bottle or two of wine with some sweet potato fries and mayo to snack on. We made two visits here, both late afternoon, and had a lovely table in the sun. The staff were fun and friendly although we have never come across a place where the waiter tasted the wine rather than the customer! We would definitely return here, certainly to drink and maybe to eat too next time.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LowenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 161 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Nice terrasse an building. Awesome chocolate mousse and traditional whipped apple pudding.
Waitress excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank BoroTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

We were a group of 35. Only 28 had been booked. However the rest of us got seated as well. Pre ordered three course menus. Two options 22€ or 25€.

After a slight confusion everything worked fine. Food, service, price. Spot on.

Table reservation recommended.

Credit cards accepted.

Shall go again.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank jonin747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

This place has good service and good food at a very nice price . This is a restaurant that gives you personal service

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 969ulfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Sunny day, we hoped for a table outside, a girl serving us said she'd tell us if anything going to be available. She didn't. Twice. Available table for new clients. Fine, busy times, this wasn't what ruined our mood. She took our order, but half of it wasn't told to kitchen. We had to ask one by one if our ordered dishes are on their way? After some wait a young guy Jaan cleared the mess. But then again, some things went missing..
The food was overly covered and filled with coriander. This should've asked/warned if it's okay. Tortillas were just sheets and fillings separately, to be made by ourselves. Didn't bring anything to clean my hands with tho. I never got my dessert which I had ordered and allowed them to bring to table with main course. Nor cappuccino. Eventually all these items that were missing, were listed on the check..
Yeah, place can be hipsteric, but no discount on things like these.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank KHKH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeibResto1, Owner at Umami Resto, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear Tripadvisor user Kadri H,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere appologies for the errors occuring during your visit.
We are struck positively about the number of guests coming to each day and unfortunaly on your case we were not able to deliver. We take your feedback very seriously and will discuss to learn from the mistake during our service meeting.
I kindly hope you give us another chance to show our true hospitality. I would like to propose a bottle of nice wine as a token of our appologie. Please contact me to arrange the booking.

With warm regards,

Kristjan Peäske
Restaurateur
kristjan@umamiresto.ee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Resto also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Umami Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing